Parmesan cheese is not truly vegetarian, as it contains animal rennet. To make this dish 100% vegetarian, omit the cheese or find a suitable vegetarian substitute made without animal rennet. In supermarkets look for the 'parmesan style hard cheeses' which are suitable for vegetarians.
*This versatile dish makes a lovely accompaniment to grilled meat or fish or could be served on a brunch table. As a starter or light meal, allow two tomato halves per person and garnish or serve with salad leaves.
*If preferred, use mature Cheddar in place of Parmesan.