My reviews (49)

Simple and delicious sponge cake

Sooo easy to make yet so good! I make this simple sponge cake with my mate all the time. It is dead easy. Use it to make a Victoria sandwich, if you like, though it's delicious as is!
Reviews (49)


Comment:
01 Feb 2011
Kirsty89 said:
Something else. Added vanilla extract
 
01 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Kirsty89
Very easy & only required ingredients I already had lying about. Added buttercream & jam. Was a winner.
 
30 May 2011
Reviewed by: openflame
my 13 year old son made this for us and it turned out beautifully!
 
12 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: latinos
i love it i failed first time but tried again
 
22 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: shirubi
. Quick easy recipe! Added vanilla essence the first time and 2nd time - added zest of a lemon plus 1tsp of the lemon juice!
 
13 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: VickyPoole22
This was an easy cake to make - though a few steps I think could be expanded. Like beating in the eggs and carefully folding flour so you don't knock all the air out. I also added a bit of vanilla and the taste is good. BUT I only cooked for 20 minutes on a slightly lower heat than suggested following my gut and it is still a dry cake. More vanilla cake than sponge but once iced it was edible at least. Not as awesome as review suggested.
 
22 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: rundmc
First thing I have ever baked. Simple, but best way to start. And it turned out great. If I double the ingredients to make the cake bigger, does the baking time double too? Thanks.
 
22 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: ShaHamilton
Honestly so easy and tasty! I added my own small change due to the shop not having vanilla essence...I used vanilla bean pods instead and OMG it was delicious. My friends go crazy over this simple sponge. Try dusting with vanilla icing sugar too!
 
06 Aug 2017
Reviewed by: Jenibar
Lovely and moist cake. Added glace cherries.
 
31 May 2015
Reviewed by: MarciaW
Added lemon rind
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches