My reviews (679)

Fried cabbage and bacon

Cabbage and onions, cooked in bacon fat, and served with a splash of cider vinegar – not exactly healthy, but very tasty!
Reviews (679)


25 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: BONOGIRL
Instead of cider vinegar, I added balsamic, and really liked this. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 May 2003
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
Maybe I didn't use enough cabbage (I just used 1 large bag of pre-shredded coleslaw) but the cidar vinegar slightly overpowered the dish. It wasn't bad and I might try playing around with this in the future to get it right.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Apr 2001
Reviewed by: GENEAB
My family just loved it I never heard of fried cabbage, but my husband said his mother used to make it for him I'm very glad I tried this recipe
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: DIANALS
YUMMY!! Just like my Pennsylvania Dutch Father used to make when I was a kid..Sometimes he would throw in some chopped ham too..Not cook with Bacon Drippings?? think I read that somewhere?? LOL too funny..Good Ol Home Cookin always uses good ol Bacon Drippings.. gives a wonderful flavor to so many things..not that you do this EVERY day, mind you, but for a meal such as this..YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 May 2011
Reviewed by: LCP413
This was great. I used chicken stock for the water and added garlic. It was as good or better than my grandmothers. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Bobbi123
Really great way to use cabbage. I made exactly as written and wouldn't change a thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: BROSNANFAN
This is a great recipe and I keep having a craving for it. It is very similar to my southern Mamaw's Wilted Lettuce. I did double the bacon. I used the cider vinegar the first time and balsamic the second and really couldn't tell much difference. Now I know everyone else omitted the sugar but I added about a Tablespoon as I like it sweet. Served it with barbecued polish sausage and we all loved it. Very good - thank you so much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Adrenalyne
This turned out so delish! I did make changes though because I was trying to make something that reminds me of a dish my parents made when I was growing up. I threw the raw bacon in with all the ingredients from the get go, I used balsamic vinegar and probably tripled it (kept adding to taste as the cabbage softened. I used 5 pieces of bacon and a full head of cabbage. I cooked on a lower heat and it took probably about 45 minutes to an hour. This was soooo good - I will be making this again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: BEARLYBARBIE
This is one of my favorite comfort foods. I make mine a little different though. I always add about 3 potatoes, and some crushed red pepper. Sometimes adding either or both ham (instead of bacon) and mushrooms. It makes it more of a complete meal. I never add vinegar or sugar. Pile it all in the pan and add about a cup of water put the cover on and let it simmer down till all the water is gone and the potatoes are done. I like it all mashed up together in my bowl with butter!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: kehn
You only really need 4 ingredients for this recipe to be really great: 8 slices bacon fried...whole onion chopped... head of cabbage chopped and salt to taste. Fry the cabbage and onions in the bacon grease until it falling apart. I've been eating this for around 50 years and there is no better food!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches