My reviews (12)

Chestnut soup

Delightful soup made with chestnuts toasted in butter, chicken stock, vegetables and Madeira wine. You can substitute Marsala for the Madeira. Serve hot with a spoonful of soured cream and a light sprinkle of cayenne pepper. This soup can be made up to 2 days in advance.
Reviews (12)


11 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: DarkSky38
Very nice soup cooked it for my family Christmas day dinner for Starter and was a success. I did have to use vegetable stock cube to accommadate a Vegetarian and that did work well.
 
08 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: foodfanatic
I followed this recipe exactly and it was just divine. I love chestnuts and am always looking for new ways to make them! I loved the soup and our guests did too - many thanks for this brilliant recipe
 
16 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: vegmonster
mmmmm such a lovely soup. a great way to use whats in season. i used veggie stock instead of chicken to make it vegetarian. loved it! really rich and velvety. thank you
 
16 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: househusband1980
I have decided on this soup for the family Christmas starter, thank you for sharing your recipe
 
23 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: ducatidee
Very nice autumn warmer
 
27 Feb 2002
Reviewed by: MARY PHARR
This soup is absolutely delicious! I checked to see if Ms Tarasiewicz has any other recipes & she doesn't! I just know you are going to be the next Martha Stewart!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Mary
This was a really wonderful recipe. I made it over the holidays for my husband and company and it was a big success. Also enjoyed using a couple of ingredients I hadn't tried before. This may turn out to be my annual holiday soup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: SaladQueen
So good I don't know if I can wait until tomorrow (Thanksgiving) to serve it. Sweet and nutty - unbelievable. Used Minerve brand chestnuts (Whole Foods) because they were highly rated in our newspaper food section. One thing I did differently was to add the wine to the vegetables, to finish them and to cook off some of the alcohol, before adding vegetable stock and the chestnuts. I think the garnishes (sour cream, cayenne, perhaps some parsley) can help the eye appeal, although I don't mind it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: CIRCUSGEEK
It tasted okay, but the color and texture were unappealing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 May 2007
Reviewed by: VICKYVEIGA
This recipe is fantastic, adn I am very hard to please! Although an elegant dish, this soup is a crowd pleaser!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches