My reviews (23)

Carrot and parsnip mash

This carrot and parsnip mash makes a fantastically delicious side to a Sunday roast or Christmas dinner.
Reviews (23)


30 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Poldweia
My hubby grows carrots and parsnips 'til they're coming out of our ears. And I wanted something different from steamed, roasted and in a soup. This was smashing. Dead easy to do, though I did it with a potato masher rather than a food processor as I don't have one, and it was still great. I did do one little change I used sachets of 'Butter Buds' (butter with the fat taken out) instead of real butter. And honestly it was gorgeous. I'll be making this again as it's just so easy and so tasty.
 
Comment:
30 Mar 2010
Poldweia said:
Made it healthier. Instead of butter I used two sachets of 'Butter Buds' which are only five calories each. I also used a good old fashioned masher instead of a food processor as I don't have one.
 
02 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: BakingNana
Fabulous! Very tasty and so easy to prepare. We really enjoyed this. Thank you.
 
27 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: Ramsden
Fantastic alternative to carrots as part of a roast dinner, or to mashed spuds in bangers and mash. Also went very well with a duck casserole recipe of mine. I do halve the amounts of carrot and parsnip, because otherwise there's a bit more than I ever need. I don't halve the butter though, I use three quarters of the amount in this recipe instead, as it makes it very creamy (I only use real butter, not the spreads).
 
05 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: JohnBeales
Such a simple thing as a replacement for mashed potato. We left it a but rustic and didn't puree it. Going to be a regular with us.
 
31 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: barefootchef
Made this as an accompaniment to Thanksgiving meal - it was delicious. Making it again tonight to serve with Venison casserole & Dauphinoise potatoes
 
29 May 2011
Reviewed by: mozcab
 
27 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: BWOODALL
I made this recipe instead of potatos for our holiday dinner and received great reviews for my work. Very tasty and different. Of note though, parsnips take a long time to soften. Steaming them for up to 30 minutes doesn't work, they really need to be boiled, otherwise you'll end up with lumps of parsnips in your whipped carrots.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: schmerna
Very good. I think the it needs some more spices. Maybe onions and garlic will be good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Sara B.
This is soooo yummy! If you like the flavor of parsnips, this recipe showcases it wonderfully! Thanks for a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches