My reviews (23)

Carrot and parsnip mash

This carrot and parsnip mash makes a fantastically delicious side to a Sunday roast or Christmas dinner.
Reviews (23)


17 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: Laury Livsey Dyke
A tremendous blending of flavors! The consistency is of mashed potatoes. Great stuff!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Marcy in MD
I love both parsnips and carrots and imagined this would be a delicious way to combine them. I followed the directions exactly, but when I tasted it, it was bland mush. I started doctoring, using some of the suggestions in other reviews (I added a little brown sugar, kosher salt, a little pepper, a dash of allspice, and some ground ginger). That improved the flavor but not enough, so I tried adding a little honey and more ginger, and it was still not good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: ALESHAASH
Wasn't as tasty as I thought, but for those that love carrots & parsnips this will be a treat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Davene Cain
This side dish was a big hit at our St Paddy's dinner table. Everyone loved it and it will be a tradition from now on!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: MotherLodeViv
Surprisingly delicious! I made no adjustments, and it worked out wonderfully.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Jean Koontz
Not for us, but it looks like a lot of people like it. Used extra seasoning, but still bland.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: CASSIADAWN
I've made this a few times, and I'm always pleasantly surprised by how nice this dish is. I've made this by just mashing the veggies, too, and as long as the veggies are cooked to -very- tender, it works quite well... as long as you don't mind a little bit of texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: jensmith
I had never had parsnips before so I wasn't sure what to expect. The dish was quite a bit sweeter than I expected. It was really good, but not what I was expecting. I think I may add onions and other spices next time. My biggest complaint was the smell of the parsnips as they were cooking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: WENCH01
Absolutely Delicious, thank you
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Dani Lefebvre
I didn't have any nutmag on hand, but it still tasted great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches