My reviews (47)

Cranberry apple crumble

I devised this recipe when I was trying to use up leftover homemade cranberry sauce! You could probably also use jarred cranberry sauce for this recipe.
Reviews (47)


08 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Evie
I've never given a one star review before...but this one gets my first ever, with no hesitation! I liked the combination of apples and cranberry, but the "crisp" topping was dry and tasted exactly like cardboard. Gross. I threw out all the leftovers...and there were a lot! It was a VERY dissappointing finale to an otherwise spectacular Thanksgiving meal. I could see all my guests were being polite and choking it down. I finally mumbled something about the topping being dry and tasteless, and no-one said anything..they all just stared politely into their bowls. I'll go back to may old tried and true crisp topping recipe. To all of you who want to try this recipe - pick a crisp topping from another recipe on this site. The one on the Maple Apple Crisp (by Crystal) is VERY good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: LADYJAYPEE
This was delicious. I used Cranberry Sauce I from this website. I do recommend using Granny Smith apples, as the recipe calls for. I tossed in a couple of "unknown" apple varieties, along with a Granny Smith, but missed the firmness and tanginess of the GS. The topping was superb. Be sure to use whole wheat PASTRY flour, and not just plain ww flour! Thanks, Dishy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: sandysue
I enjoyed this recipe but I pretty much like anything with cranberry sauce in it. Although I can't resist commenting on some of the former reivews. Doesn't it make sense to try out a recipe first before making it for holiday dinners, birthday parties, etc??? If you don't like a recipe fine, but don't make an untested recipe for a big dinner and then be embarrassed when no one, not even you, likes it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Emily
This was really tasty! I added 1/4 c. sugar to the apples and next time I would add a bit of flour to thicken the juices. I just felt it needed a little extra sugar to please my sweet tooth. I used 1 can of Ocean Spray whole berry cranberry sauce and it was just the right amount. I didn't have whole wheat flour so substituted A.P. and the topping was delicious! Thanks for a great, easy fall recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES
The negative reviews almost scared me away from this healthy recipe, but thank goodness I didn't listen to the naysayers. I've tried all of this cooks's other recipes, and they are fabulous, so of course i had to try it, and i am soooo happy i did. It was delicious and the whole family ate it up. I made it precisely according to directions and didn't change a thing...except for topping it with whipped cream, of course. There is such a thing as TOO healthy, i believe. Thanks, What a Dish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: CRAZY4SUSHI
This is a great way to use up left over cranberry. I like to mix the apples and cranberry together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Amber
I used cherry pie filling instead of cranberries and regular all purpose flour. Turned out great. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: doitnow
What a Dish! you are right on with this recipe. I loved it and it is so flexible. I found the topping to be fabulous (Evie read the ingredients ~ NOT whole wheat flour, whole wheat PASTRY flour ~ that could why yours was not good). I used a big round stoneware dish which was a little bigger than an 8 or nine inch square baking dish because I had about 8 granny smith apples that I wanted to use up. I had two different cranberry sauce leftovers ~ one sweet and one tart with some pineapple in it ~ threw both of them in there and stirred them with the apples ~ added about 1/4 extra cup of oatmeal into the topping mixture since my dish was bigger. Cooked for 50 minutes. Fantastic!!! I would say that any negative reviews on this recipe would be the result of operator error ~ not the fault of the recipe ~ a great and flexible recipe ~ will be my go to recipe now for the topping on any kind of fruit crisp.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Growler
I made this recipe two weeks ago and it has one of the best crisps I've ever tasted. Usually I can't stand the brick hard crisps and this was no way near that. It was moist and very tastey. I'm going to make if for our friends for this t-day. Thank you so much for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: LilSnoo
Can I say YUM!!! I make my own cranberry sauce and this was the perfect way to use up the leftovers. Hubby and I ate it as Thanksgiving dessert and as breakfast the next morning (oops, all gone!). We both LOVED it and this will become our standard Thanksgiving dessert from now on. Not only is it delicious, it's super easy! I used regular white flour for the topping. There are very few ingredients in this recipe, but don't let that fool you - it's packed full of flavor and even better topped with vanilla bean icecream! I don't understand the reviewer who said her topping tasted like cardboard and nobody ate it. I don't know WHAT she put in it, but the topping is SO good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches