My reviews (248)

Hot Spiced Apple Punch

This recipe uses an automatic filter coffee maker to brew the punch. If you don't own one, heat it in a slow cooker or a saucepan over medium heat on the hob. Grab your mugs and dive into this hot drink! Clean your coffee maker according to the manufacturer's instructions before using for coffee again.
Reviews (248)


Comment:
26 Feb 2010
jonaz said:
fab on a cold winter night. Good for the older kids too!
 
09 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: mollygirl
I actually made this in a slow cooker while I was preparing other dishes for a party. Put all the ingredients in a cheesecloth (thick paper towels to make two sacks would work just fine)and tie it with kitchen twine. This method keeps you from having to fish around the ingredients when it is ready to serve. Slow cook on low for about 4 hours, stirring occasionally. This was so easy to make and the aroma that fills your home while it's cooking is just divine! Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: rebecca
Do yourself a favor and omit the brown sugar from this recipe. I have a sweet tooth, but the sugar in this cider is unnecessary. It left a film on my teeth I can't get off even after brushing twice! That said, the spices and flavor of the cider were wonderful. I didn't have any problems with my coffee maker, either. Although, I think it would be easier to do as others suggested and make it on the stovetop or slow cooker. I love the orange in it. Will make again with no added sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: CBETRO
I made this recipe in a larg pot on the stove and skipped the step of putting everything throught the coffee maker. I wish I hadn't skipped that step. It smelled wonderful while on the stove, and the first few cups were good (or so I was told) but when I finally had a chance to get a cup, it had a very strong flavor. Maybe the cloves or one of the other spices, but I think if I would have removed all of the spices from the pot after the first 20 minutes, then it would have just kept warm and the flavor wouldn't have been so strong. I served mine with a dollop of whipped cream on top of each mug. I will make again, but follow the recipe exactly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: JAB77
Very good! I made it in the crock pot using a coffee filter and a piece of ribbon to keep the spices in.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: CURTISLEE
What is wrong with my family? Nobody wanted to even try this unbelievable concoction. Great! All the more for me. How can one drink be refreshing, comforting, spicy, and sweet at the same time? Somehow, Hot Spiced Cider gits er' done. This will be traditional Christmas fare for me. I can see myself rounding up the ingredients for this recipe whenever the snow starts to fly. I used my slow cooker. I wrapped the spices in a coffee filter and tied it with a rubberband. I turned the slow cooker to the "high" setting until it was hot enough, then lowered it to "warm." I don't particularly enjoy the clove flavor which can be somewhat dominant, so I may reduce or eliminate that spice the next time around. Still wonderful though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: daisysue62
Excellent! I love apple cider and this recipe was really easy to make and really good. I left out the allspice because I don't have any on hand, and also made it on the stove top instead of the coffee maker. I just put all the spices in a tea strainer and that worked fine. I like that I can just put this back in the apple cider jug and reheat it as we go!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: sahm
WAY too sweet as written... be sure to decrease the amount of sugar. Many people dumped their servings at a recent get together. I made it in the crockpot and will likely try it again with no sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: COOKIN LADY
This was very easy, and very good. I did make this in my coffee maker the first time, and initially thought it worked fine, until my husband tried to use the machine to make coffee. It was clogged with what we believed to be burnt sugar, and he took it apart and spent a lot of time cleaning it before it finally worked again. The next time I made it in a big pot, and that worked fine. I tied the spices up inside a coffee filter. I didn't end up using a whole orange (used about half of a huge one), and used ground allspice rather than whole, but followed the recipe other than that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: JennyMA
VERY popular recipe for us! Like others, I opted for a slow cooker instead of the coffe maker. Just tossed everything in, set it on low, and let it warm for a few hours. I cut the brown sugar in half, as I thought it would have enough flavor without more sugar. It was perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches