My reviews (170)

Turkey Gravy

This easy Christmas turkey gravy recipe is always welcome at Christmas dinner, or any other occasion where you've roasted a succulent turkey. Your family will love this turkey gravy, which is sure to become a Christmas tradition.
Reviews (170)


13 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Leona2969
Finished Christmas dinner lperfectly
 
23 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: MARY DOMAZ
Tasty low fat gravy after adjusting thickener. Before I even read the reviews, I knew there must be an error in the recipe. There is no way one fourth cup of flour will thicken 6 cups of liquid. The normal proportion is 2 Tablespoons flour, or 1 Tablespoon cornstarch, per cup of liquid. So, I used 6 tablespoons of cornstarch and I was pleased with the result. Instead of putting the cornstarch in the one cup of water, I used one cup of cold broth. I did not want to water down the flavor of the gravy. I was very happy to have a tasty gravy with no fat. You may also want to adjust the salt. If you are using bouillon, or canned broth, you probably do not need to add any salt. I would recommend making this without salt and adding later if you need it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Nancy Bowman
This is a great (and easy!) recipe for turkey gravy. The only change I made was that I always use the water that I've boiled the potatoes in, instead of regular old tap water. I think it just gives the gravy a better taste plus with the potatoes having been in the water, it might even help with the thickening. Whether or not, this is a keeper. Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Toasty Mama
I followed the suggestion of another reviewer who said to feed her family of four used the 2 cups of stock, 2 Tbs of butter and 2 Tbs of flour - no water. First she melted the butter then added flour and cooked until bubbly and resembles wet sand. Then she added the broth, whisked and seasoned according to the recipe. It was so very, very good... the only thing was my family of four went right through it. I will definitely make this again this way, but double it so there is some left over. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: CARRIE HUBBARD
You absolutely have to degrease the turkey drippings! I think that is a step some people forget. You can put the turkey drippings in the fridge over night and scrape of the top fat in the morning, or drop some ice cubes in the drippings and it will bring the fat to the top. I didn’t have a full 6 cups worth, so I used ½ turkey drippings and ½ canned chicken broth. I also added 2 cups of egg noodles, a couple diced boiled eggs, and a can of cream of chicken. This really makes the gravy something special! Don’t worry if you don’t have the poultry or celery seasoning, just season to your taste. This is a TERRIFIC base recipe that can be adapted many ways!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: sadiespapa
This is a great recipe. However, Instead of adding the flour to water, what I do is I put 4 to 5 tablespoons of butter in a pan & add 4 to 5 tablespoons of flour to that. When it turns to a paste, then you add the stock slowly & whisk it. It's the best gravy you will ever have. No lumps or anything. It's fantastic!!!!! If you want more gravy just double the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: Kiki
This gravy is very tasty. I used the drippings (about 1 cup) from the roasted turkey and 4 cups of chicken broth instead of 5 cups of turkey stock. Like other reviewers, I also have to add more flour to thicken it. I will sure make it again on every Thanksgiving to go with my turkey.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: ALLYSE
I was very proud of myself after sampling this gravy. A few variations though. I used refrigerated turkey stock I made last night & instead of flour used a few tablespoons of cornstarch in stock(instead of the water). I also added a few tablespoons of cream of celery soup(rather have used cream of chicken, didn't have)for flavor. This perfected my turkey dinner & my boyfriend absolutely loved it! My house still smells great! Thanks Veronica!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: Irene
I added a teaspoon of onion powder too. I've finally made a gravy I'm proud of. Thanks Veronica.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: DESHATT
It was tasty, but was way too soupy per the ingredients. Either needs way more flour or way less stock.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches