My reviews (98)

Christmas crescent biscuits

These nutty biscuits make an elegant presentation and are delicious, too, featuring hazelnuts and vanilla-infused icing sugar.
Reviews (98)


Comment:
04 Dec 2008
vickie said:
Took shortcuts. I didn't use vanilla sugar, just regular icing sugar because i didn't have the time!
 
15 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: amin
These biscuits turned out great, lovely hazelnut flavour. Melt in the mouth, yum yum!!! Would defo recommend to everyone.
 
01 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: meimeila
These are the best cookies, great hazelnut flavour. Melt in your mouth cookies. Taste great with just a coating of icing suger, if you dont have the vanilla sugar. Made for family & friends & they all loved them. Will def make again.
 
04 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: vickie
These were delicious buttery biscuits and had a great nutty flavour thanks to the hazelnuts. I didn't use the vanilla sugar, but I guess i didn't miss it b/c they were still fab!
 
04 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: VAL_51
yum, these melt in your mouth and I wouldnt change a thing. Really pretty, too. I gave some to my mum and gran as a gift and they really liked them.
 
28 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Patrice
I have made these as Christmas gifts every year and everyone waits for them! My recipe is a bit different--I use almonds (very finely chopped), and 1/4 c regular sugar for the mix. (My recipe doesn't call for vanilla bean). I bake at a low temp (300) for about 30 minutes. The cookies should be rolled in powdered sugar twice--the first roll does absorb, but the second stays white and fluffy. I use a plastic bag in a bowl filled with the powdered sugar for easier rolling. My brother used to call these "fuzzy cookies". A great cookie no matter!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Rachel
Amazing! For those who want to add the chocolate coating, I used the "chocolate covered strawberries" recipe. (Basically melt 8 oz of chocolate chips with 1 tablespoon of shortening. Dip cooled cookies into chocolate.) I really enjoyed these cookies plain & with chocolate! Hooray!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Lisa
I made these with almonds as suggested by the submitter and they are quite good. I found one minute wasn't long enough for the cookies to cool before coating with sugar as the sugar just dissolved into the cookies. I waited until they were cool and rolled them in sugar again. These seem to freeze well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Suze Knisley
This is the recipe I've used for years, minus the vanilla bean in the sugar, and using ground pecans inplace of the hazelnuts. My children love these cookies so much that one year when I didn't bake them due to illness, we ended up throwing a batch together on Christmas Eve just so it would "really" be Christmas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Jeanne16
I don't use the vanilla bean - too much work. Just use a good quality pure vanilla extract when you make the dough, I prefer Mexican vanilla. Also, if you use an electric mixer to mix the dough until light, you have cookies that literally melt in your mouth. Amazing. Plus, for a different taste, use toasted pecans or almonds, chopped very fine. For the chocolate, use Belgian Chocolate instead of chocolate chips, a world of difference.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches