My reviews (57)

Creamy Wild Rice and Chicken Chowder

This is a hearty soup with a lot of texture. It is perfect in winter with a roaring fire and some crusty bread. You can really change the taste of the soup depending on what kind of chicken you use. Poached chicken yields a good flavour, whereas roast chicken offers a more complex taste.
Reviews (57)


12 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: KARKLES
Excellent recipe! Doubled the chicken, brushed melted butter and poultry seasoning on the chicken and then broiled. Used canned chicken broth, added minced garlic to the sauteed vegetables and then plenty of garlic powder, some salt and pepper. Thank you...this will definitely be made again and again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: Duh716
I omitted celery and added garlic, dash of red pepper and some cheddar cheese I will be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Oct 2012
Reviewed by: Sheri S.
Good, thick soup. I left out the celery and added about a tablespoon of minced garlic. I also added an extra cup of chicken stock because the soup was a little thick for my liking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: jessicadw10
This is great! Perfect homemade chicken wild rice soup. Best part: gluten free!!! I cooked mine in a crock pot and the rice took a long time to cook, but once it was done I added the 2 cups of heavy whipping cream and it was ready to eat right away. I added salt to taste. Also - I did not puree anything, it is already thick enough. I also added extra chicken. Next time I will add mushrooms, then it will be perfect. LOVE this soup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: FoxSilver62
Excellent. The family loved it. Will definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Owen
Kind of bland.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: CINDY3539
Made the recipe as written. I think that was my mistake. It was terribly bland. i used regular wild rice like listed in recipe, no seasoning packet. The other person was right, not a very visually appetizing dish. I would not make this again, even with a seasoning packet!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: GEORGE
I make this AT LEAST twice a month! It is so easy, nutritious, and YUMMY! Thank you, Michelle, for this awesome recipe! FYI, I always add thyme and parsley.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: TSTATION
This was soooo good and easy to make. I will definitely make it again. My family loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jan 2016
Reviewed by: LAperson
To me this soup had no flavor to it. I used roasted chicken (homemade) and concentrated homemade chicken stock. It sort of tasted like warm milk with a slight bit of flavor to it. I tried adding all sort of other seasonings - garlic, savory, marjoram, smoked paprika, etc but nothing worked. My husband who will eat just about anything had about two spoonfuls before stopping. I don't like posting such a negative review - but if one is looking for something with a robust flavor this is not it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches