My reviews (37)

Caipirinha

Brazil's national cocktail is so refreshing and delicious! Ask your off license to order Cachaca for you if they don't stock it, there's no substitute.
Reviews (37)


Comment:
21 Jun 2010
just2street said:
Used different ingredients. one of the best cachacas for general consumption is 51. My family has always used it.
 
19 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: Cachaca
Always good to remember that to be caipirinha needs to be made with cachaca ... Besides the traditional caipirinha recipe I put these 5 cocktail recipes using cachaca in our blog. Have a look and enjoy =) http://www.cachacabartolomeu.com/single-post/2016/12/10/Top-5-Cachaca-Cocktails
 
10 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: Syd
This is the best drink ever.
 
21 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: just2street
Wonderful refreshing drink.
 
10 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Debora
As a Brazilian myself, I prepare Caipirinha in a slightly different way: the ingredients are still the same (although you can substitute the cachaça for dark rum - it will then be called "Caipirissima"). You should crush the sliced lime (unpeeled, please!) and the sugar in a glass, mix in the cachaça (or rum) and a few ice cubes. As for the comments on using either limes or lemons, I can assure you that what is sold in the US as lime is exactly what Brazilians call "limão Tahiti". So, go with the lime!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: KBOOP
Being a Brazilian myself, I must say that our original recipe for Caipirinha takes lemon (Tahiti lemon), not lime. One more hint: I know this could be hard for you to find in the USA, but try using the artesanal Cachaça, not the industrial one. If you have more than a few drinks, the industrial Cachaça (Velho Barreiro, Ypioca, 51) will probably give you a headache and a hangover the next day. A good quality Cachaça (artesanal), won't! Cheers from Brazil!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Isabella Vasconcelos
This drink is stunning, and believe me being brazilian myself I can assure you that caipirinha is made with lime and not lemon!!! Shame on the brazilians who said it's made with lemon
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Alejito
as a Scotsman who has been to Brasil on many occasions- here is my take - 1. Yes limes only please. 2. Cane sugar only, unrefined if possible. 3. Im sure its great with pineapple and many other things but then it aint a Caiparinha. 4. No matter how good the cachaca, or how well you follow the recipe or how good the company is - it'll never ever ever taste the same as it does in a bar anywhere in Brasil with the samba music blaring and the beautiful multicultural crazy clientel all around you - so do yourself a favour and go visit the most beautiful, hospitable and downright loco country in the world! and Yes Scotland runs a very close second- we just don't get the weather
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jul 2001
Reviewed by: RLNANCE
What a terrific cocktail. No driving afterward, though! it is potent...superfine sugar makes it even better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: anasofia
This drink tastes like heaven in a hot summer afternoon.. but you need three ou four teaspoons of sugar, a inch of pineaple juice and the ice should be crushed.. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches