My reviews (85)

Gingerbread for a Gingerbread House

Every Christmas I design a new pattern and make a gingerbread house. The kids love to help decorate. This recipe is enough to make one gingerbread house.
Reviews (85)


23 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: chocookie
awesome
 
22 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: heardthemessage
I don't know what I did wrong but the dough did not bind together and I was left with a crumbly mess.... Eventually I added a sprinkle of water, sadly the dough still didn't work out and the segments of house crumbled in the oven...the only redeeming feature was the flavour... nice
 
30 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: samantha_
Thanks for this great recipe This is the first time I've made a gingerbread. My friend makes them with the precision of an archetiect but mine was rustic and wonky!.. The important stuff, it was ready in about 24 hours. I altered the recipe slightly, I used 300 black treacle and 50 golden syrup and next time will do half and half. I also added around 100g of extra flour. The person above has said this did not come together, I had the opposite experience making me think that it must be the type of raw ingredients (butter or marg etc) will alter the consistency and you have to adapt it a little. I added the extra flour and it was perfect and SO yummy (raw!). I rolled as suggested but next time I'd roll thinner, a matter of taste I think. I've added some pics
 
20 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: wendy35
I made this today, beautiful mixture, easy to cut out shapes and mold. The trick is to boil for 2 min as the instructions says, you shouldn't have any problems enjoy the great flavour x
 
05 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Nicolelovebaking
Tried it but takes a lot of effort and the dog ate mine!
 
22 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: shania.sz.donnelly
I dont actually like Ginger Bread myself, so it was more of a decoration. It was fantastic and so easy to make it also cooled rather quick, an added bonus! A family member told me it tasted fantastic, (this was a good week after it was baked) I will definatley be using this recipe again!
 
19 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: Nilasha
Great recipe it tastes amazing
 
16 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: Sjtinkerbel
Very easy to follow instructions
 
26 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: Rebekah
My mom & I make approximately 40 gingerbread houses each year, so I know what I am saying when I tell you this is a great recipe. We lost our recipe this year so tried this one and we like it better than our usual one. You will have to correctly measure the flour or it would be too dry. You scoop the flour into the measure cup and with a kitchen scoop, then clear off the top with a knife WITHOUT tapping the cup. Then it should not be too dry. Also don't try to make them too thin. They should be app. 3/8" thick. Good luck with your gingerbread house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: kats_snguyen
To all those who have tried this recipe and ended up with a crumbly mess (like me!) I have some valuable advice. Once you've melted the shortening, keep the heat on medium as you add the rest of the ingredients GRADUALLY using a whisk to mix it in, rather than dumping all the dry ingredients in all at once. Keeping it over the heat helped keep it warm and pliable. It's amazing how much of a difference this all made. It turned out PERFECTLY and I will be sure to use this recipe every year!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches