My reviews (143)

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

These garlic mashed potatoes are rich and very tasty! For a creamier texture, use cream in place of the milk. These are also terrific topped with chopped spring onions.
Reviews (143)


08 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: jadey1179
This is a nice little twist on mashed potatoes. Went down very well with my boyfriend! Will definately be using this recipe again!
 
21 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: misslouise193
YUM
 
09 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: laguardo
Good stuff. Didn't have any sesame seeds handy though so used coriander seeds instead.
 
08 Apr 2003
Reviewed by: JEANNETTE777
For richer potatos, increase butter to 1/2 cup, use half 'n half instead of milk, or use milk, but add 1/4 cup of sour cream. ALWAYS melt & mix butter in potatoes first, as this will coat them, and prevent the release of starches that makes mashed potatos goopy sometimes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: I'm nuts too...
My clan ate these up without 1 single complaint (RARE). I boiled the garlic cloves (3) in the potato water and then just mashed them up (with the hand mixer) along with all of the other ingredients. I did add more milk (skim), butter & white pepper. Thanks Lorna!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Meredith
Yum! I took someone's advice and boiled the cloves whole with the potatoes. It made them nice and soft so that I could just beat everything with the electric mixer at the same time. I also added a little bit of garlic salt as I was mixing and I omitted the sesame seeds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: Esmee Williams
I made these potatoes even creamier by substituting fat-free sour cream for the milk. They were heavenly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: LANAIAH
Rich & creamy, my family loved these potatoes! I added sour cream and left out the sesame seeds. I also used minced garlic in a jar and it came out terrific! This is a keeper in our home. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Sep 2001
Reviewed by: GINAH1
Use an electric mixer for best consistency.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
I love mashed potatoes and I usually make my own version that's very similar to this one. I replace the garlic with garlic oil that my hubby makes (chop up lots of garlic and fry it in veggie oil till golden). We put this in a lot of our asian dishes but it tastes especially good in mashed potatoes. I don't use the sesame seeds. Thanks Lorna.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches