My reviews (46)

Okonomiyaki

A Japanese style dinner 'pancake' integrating cabbage and meat for a delicious meal!
Reviews (46)


05 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: PAULITAZ
Okonomiyaki reminds me of my childhood so I had to give this one a shot this past weekend. I did modify the recipe though so I guess my review doesn’t count so much. Used Dashi broth rather than water, dried shrimp rather than bacon, didn’t mix in the ginger but used it as a condiment (BTW- don’t use the type of pickled ginger you get with your sushi. There is another kind that is a deep red that is cut into little sticks), chopped the cabbage rather than sliced it, added ¼c chopped green onion, and topped with Okonomiyaki sauce, Kewpie mayonnaise (Japanese) and Aonori (green dried seaweed powder). My first batch needed to be cooked a little longer, a little too sticky. The second batch, which was topped also with an egg, came out just perfect. Boy, brings back memories! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: BRENNA3
This is the same way I make it, except I leave out the pickled ginger. The bacon can also be substitued for other meats, I have found ham and shrimp work (but bacon is my fav). You can also add some finely chopped up leek, which really adds to the traditional flavor. I serve it with Okonomiyaki sauce (brown sauce) and Japanese Mayo (it's like american mayo without sugar, so you can substitute regular mayo no problem)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: PARKER71
This can be a very versatile recipe. Not to mention very delicious as well. As the name suggests, okonomi means your favorite in Japanese. So you can add any of your favorite ingredients in okonomi-yaki. We made ours with shrimp, crab meat and shiitaki mushroom. Instead of water, we used dashi stock which adds more flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: cscook
These were pretty good! I'm Japanese so it's a compliment . I used Shrimp (cooked w/salt & pepper, little garlic butter and soy sauce) chopped it into the batter. I topped mine with mayonaise, tonkatsu sauce, bonita flakes and seasoned nori (seaweed). Reminds me of when I was a little girl in Japan. No more instant mixes ... no way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Michael Gibson
I like this recipe a lot; however, I prefer to use meats that aren't as salty as the cured meats, like beacon and ham... Fresh pork, beef or Chicken breast, sliced thinly and pan fried before combining with the pancake is very good. I really like this dish, though. Also, I like to cut the ribs out of the cabbage to make sure every bite of cabbage is tender.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: JONNYZBABE
I used shrimp to make this as suggested by others and cut down on the pickled ginger b/c I don't like it much. My hubby and I had a hard time making these b/c we weren't sure what to expect. Is it supposed to have more batter or more cabbage? After the first one we found a 'flipable' size and they turned out pretty good. Great taste and wonderfully cooked cabbage. Definately NOT traditional american greasy food.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: SYLVERYGNOME
I made this according to the recipe, with bacon and the ginger. My husband ate it just fine, but I didn't like it at all. I found the sauce and bacon were too salty. Won't make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: emh
Five stars for taste even though I'm terrible at the flipping part and I end up eating a mish mash of broken parts. I didn't have bacon so made a vegetarian style which was just as good. I used fresh finely chopped ginger (didn't have pickled) and a splash of soy sauce in the water. Finally, finished with spicy mayo (two parts mayo to one part sriracha hot sauce) and nori sprinkled on top. EDIT: Delicious modified for one person - I used 1/4 c. water to 1/3 c. flour. Also, was more successful in flipping by forming two to three little pancakes rather than one big one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: nausicaa
I would use dashi instead of water to add more favor to the base. water is a bit too bland. I wouldnt use BBQ sauce, use Okonomiyaki sauce instead. Other suggested filling: grated yam, chopped leeks, Meat(Chicken, Roast pork, or beef), Seafood (Squid, Octopus, shrimp or dried shrimp favored), Corn, Mushrooms, Onion, parsely, bell pepper
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Apple Jacks
The flavor of this dish was a little too strange for our tastes. My boyfriend said that the barbecue sauce paired with bacon was not so good. I left out the pickled ginger, however, so that might have something to do with it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches