My reviews (17)

Spicy Korean red pepper cucumbers

This is very spicy and full of flavour. I first tried this dish in a Korean restaurant. The red pepper flavour is the same that is used to make kimchi. After playing with the recipe, I discovered a flavour that my Korean boyfriend loves. You can also pour the sauce over lettuce to create a version of the Korean salad some restaurants serve.
Reviews (17)


10 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Jessicca
This was awesome! Cucumber kimchi is my favorite! I already had toasted sesame seeds so I skipped the first step. I also used apple cider vinegar instead because that is what my mom always uses when she cooks Korean food and added a pinch of sugar, or "sweetness" as my mom calls it. It was very easy to make and really tastes like the real thing! **I just wanted to say that kochujong isn't really a hot sauce, it is hot pepper paste...just thought this might help people who are looking for it
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Lillian
This was very good even though I made changes to it. I couldn't find Korean hot sauce so I used Frank's hot sauce. I also used a yellow onion instead of green. I also added 1 tsp of sugar as suggested by another member. I liked the contrast of flavors between the hot sauce and the sesame oil. This dressing was not too spicy, which I also liked. I will definitely be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Spicer
Excellent!!! The only thing that I recommend is to cut the vinegar in half. Also, salt the cucumbers and let them sit to "sweat them out", rinse before coating with the dressing. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Anglica
I also wanted to add a note. To make it really authentic you can rinse your cucumbers after you slice them and sprinkle them with a pinch of salt for 10 minutes to wilt them a litte before you use them. I prefer mine a little more juicy, but my boyfriend likes them that way too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: Gustavo'sCupcake
this recipe is yummmmy! I love, love,love cucumber kimchi. It's not quite my grandmonther's quality, but it still rocked and was super close!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 May 2009
Reviewed by: SPICY MAN
I substituted srihacha hot sauce instead of korean hot sauce, and cilantro for green onion. Exellent.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Bethy
I couldn't find the Korean hot sauce or paste so I used a Thai hot sauce I had on hand. I also used diced red onion instead of the green and added a pinch of cane sugar crystals. It was really good, but with the hot sauce I used very spicy! I'm not sure if the kochujang would be that hot, but be wary if your sensitive to spicy food. We loved it and will definitely make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Nancy
Authentic and delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: OolyndeoO
This is very good!! I did follow another reviewer and added 1 Tbs of sugar. You HAVE to use sesame oil because I think that's what make this soooooo good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: JARRIE
This reminded me of another Korean cucumber recipe I've tried on this site. The other one had some salt added; it's better with salt. Otherwise, it's pretty much the same. I don't have "kochujang" so I did a little research on the net to see about making a sub. The closest I was able to come was to mix a sweetener with Sriracha (or whatever hot sauce/paste you're subbing). Apparently kochujang has sugar in it; I added a little Splenda to my Sriracha and called it a day. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches