My reviews (15)

Potato cakes or farls

These potato cakes are not sweet cakes, they are however an excellent way to use up leftover mashed potatoes! Serve hot with a little butter with fried eggs, baked beans, or even with a nice steak!
Reviews (15)


Comment:
15 May 2011
cook_uk said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Wasn't sure why the recipe states 1/2lb cooked potatoes yet 60 gms of flour so I used 225 gms of potato and needed quite a healthy splash of skimmed milk to form a dough
 
11 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: ChrissieBow
Love them and make them all the time... great recipe....
 
15 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: AZAZ2
I am flipping challenged. I loved the thinness and overall crispy exterior of these, but as usual mine do not look like lovely triangles. They tasted great though.
 
15 May 2011
Reviewed by: cook_uk
I'd forgotton what such a nice and simple addition these are to a mixed grill
 
19 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: c1tyof4ngels
this is so easy, and so tasty and I no longer have to throw away good mash, because I always do too much. Thanks. This was awesome.
 
17 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: jmj
Delicious - and so easy. I added some parsley which gave a nice flavour to the farls.
 
11 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: stampystamps
Yumm Yumm
 
10 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: LindaT
Never had these before, quite yummy and quick to make
 
29 Jul 2017
Reviewed by: natbrookes
These turned out great. Instead of rolling out thinly I made these into thick pancakes. Warning: you may not need the milk, I added some just because I thought I would need to but once I tried to tip it out to knead it was really sticky so I needed to add more flour. Next time I doubt I will add the milk.
 
03 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: PhilEllery
Saturday night tea with cheese when I was a child in the 50's, these are the closest to my Nans I have made.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches