My reviews (14)

Potato cakes or farls

These potato cakes are not sweet cakes, they are however an excellent way to use up leftover mashed potatoes! Serve hot with a little butter with fried eggs, baked beans, or even with a nice steak!
Reviews (14)


Comment:
15 May 2011
cook_uk said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Wasn't sure why the recipe states 1/2lb cooked potatoes yet 60 gms of flour so I used 225 gms of potato and needed quite a healthy splash of skimmed milk to form a dough
 
11 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: ChrissieBow
Love them and make them all the time... great recipe....
 
15 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: AZAZ2
I am flipping challenged. I loved the thinness and overall crispy exterior of these, but as usual mine do not look like lovely triangles. They tasted great though.
 
15 May 2011
Reviewed by: cook_uk
I'd forgotton what such a nice and simple addition these are to a mixed grill
 
19 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: c1tyof4ngels
this is so easy, and so tasty and I no longer have to throw away good mash, because I always do too much. Thanks. This was awesome.
 
17 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: jmj
Delicious - and so easy. I added some parsley which gave a nice flavour to the farls.
 
11 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: stampystamps
Yumm Yumm
 
10 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: LindaT
Never had these before, quite yummy and quick to make
 
03 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: PhilEllery
Saturday night tea with cheese when I was a child in the 50's, these are the closest to my Nans I have made.
 
07 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: belle289
Loved these while travelling in Ireland recently - however these turned out better than most of the ones we were served there. It seems that most of the B&Bs bought their potato bread from the supermarket - they're so easy to make and so good when you do I can't imagine why! I'm in NZ and my mashed potato also had a bit of purple kumara in it - you'd never pick it if you didn't know but I think the little bit of sweetness it added was perfect. Apart from that, I followed this recipe exactly. The ½ pound of potato converts to 225g (of course). I'm at our holiday home and don't have scales so am using cup measures for the batch I'm about to make - will use a ratio of about 1 cup potato to ½ cup flour.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches