My reviews (135)

Guinness® and chocolate cheesecake

A close friend is a cheesecake and Guinness fanatic. He requested a Guinness cheesecake for his 25th birthday; this is the result. It is quite smooth and very rich.
Reviews (135)


20 Apr 2017
Reviewed by: AdrianTaylor
Disgusting gooey sickly mess, guinness does nothing for it. Would have given it no stars if I could
 
03 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: bigyin
Wow, this is something else, will definately be making it again but due to the cost it will be only for special occasions:-( everyone loved it.
 
17 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Serempta
The picture shown is from my old account. The recipe used was this one: http://allrecipes.com/recipe/guinness-and-chocolate-cheesecake/detail.aspx. Very tasty! TL;DR: The picture is not the same as the recipe.
 
05 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: elenmai
Really good, and I don't even like Guinness!
 
14 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Anne Z.
First, let me say how annoying it is to me to read reviews that give a poor rating when the reviewer doesn't follow the recipe! I followed the recipe EXACTLY, and this is without a doubt one of the most heavenly chocolate cheesecakes I've ever made. Just remember, the crust calls for chocolate cookies crumbs--not OREO cookie crumbs. So the butter to crumb ratio is just fine. I used chocolate graham cookie crumbs. It is very important to not leave out the heavy cream when melting the chocolate. The cream makes the chocolate into a nice, thick ganache. Eliminating the cream would result in a much thinner batter. My batter before cooking was a bit thinner than some cheesecakes I've made, but not significantly so. I was expecting it to be more runny based upon reviews that I had read. I did cook it for about 5 minutes longer because my oven runs a little cooler. The recommendation to wrap the pan in foil before submerging it in water was key--if you've never done a submerged waterbath and didn't know to wrap the pan, I can see where that would cause poor results. I took this to a St. Patrick's Day party and everyone went nuts--it was completely devoured! I'll be making this again, for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: MsScarlett
I've been a member for 2 years and this is my first review. Although I've enjoyed many, many other recipes I've gotten from Allrecipes the reason I'm reviewing this is to counteract some of the negative reviews! This is absolutely delicious made as the recipe is written! I agree with those who say people shouldn't change the recipe and then complain because it isn't to their liking! Make it as the recipe is written and then make changes IF necessary! Changes are not necessary for this recipe - I made it 2 weeks AS WRITTEN - it was to die for! I'm making it again this weekend AS WRITTEN! I use a spring form pan, oreo cookies which I take apart and discard the white stuff, Guinness beer, and place a pan of water on the shelf under the cheesecake. The only thing I do differently is to make a ganache from Ghirardelli 60% chocolate and heavy cream --and that is not a change, it's an addition! Please try this as written! And if you make it with all sorts of changes and don't like the result, keep your opinions to yourself! And I also take offense to the reviewer referring to the Holy Mother for a recipe review!! No wonder your recipe didn't turn out! Sorry to be so vocal but to criticize someone who is willing to share a recipe is beyond my comprehension. Life is short - let's be kind to each other!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: JusCookAlready
For the love of God & the Holy Mother, drink the Guinness while you're looking for a DIFFERENT recipe. Seriously. This one is horrible. I cook cheesecakes all the time. (DH loves cheesecake almost as much as Guinness.) So I should have trusted my instincts on this one & skipped the beer as the recipe was already too loose. The person even got the crust part wrong: cookie crusts need 2 cups crumbs, 2 TB butter (hello, the stuff in the middle is already fat & sweet & chocolate); graham cracker crusts need 1-1/2 cups crumbs, 1/4 cup butter, 1/4 cup sugar. Too much butter leaves cookie crusts tasting like lard & cracker crusts hard. It's not necessary to reinvent the wheel just because you're going to post your recipe. No idea what the 1/4 tsp cocoa was for...I've never seen 1/4 tsp of anything called for in a recipe. Why bother? The eggs, sour cream, cream cheese is all a normal cheesecake recipe...so, it's either the 3/4 cup beer puts the liquidity over the top or its the water bath cooking method. (I didn't immerse my springform by the way, a pan of water underneath in an oven would be sufficient in a recipe that NEEDS moisture, UNLIKE this one.) Finally, 90 minutes on 350, I take it out as the perimeter is starting to pull & crust, center looks iffy. (Left in the oven, turned off, door ajar for another hour.) & oh surprise, surprise crust is soggy, cake completely raw. I'm so mad at myself because I fell for all the hocus pocus thinking it might be interesting b
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: TheInfamousNicoletta
I've made this cheesecake twice, both times with stellar results. The first time I didn't make any changes to the ingredients, and followed the instructions to the letter. It was exceedingly good. The texture was silky and crack free, the flavor was a mature chocolate with subtle stout undertones. (NOTE: When I was pouring the batter into my springform, I was nervous because it seemed too thin to set. It wasn't! Actually, I think that's why it was so silky smooth.) The second time I made the recipe, I added an extra 1/4 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder to the crust, and instead of Guinness I subbed Young's Double Chocolate Stout (a heady English Stout in a purple bottle/can that can be found in the Microbrew section of most liquor stores). What a winner! The extra cocoa powder and the Young's achieved the complex bittersweet flavor I had been looking for. This is a Five Star recipe with no changes, and (in my opinion)MORE than five with heavier stout.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Beverly
Very tasty! With a family of beer drinkers, this was a hit. Suggestion to those who had a problem with "wet"-always use the best quality sour cream and cream cheese. Off brands can affect your results. Have eggs, cream cheese, butter and sour cream at room temperature before starting. Always drain excess moisture from your sour cream by placing in a fine sieve or yogurt strainer over a bowl while letting it warm . These little hints can make a huge difference in the end result!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: jenjen
This recipe definitely has the POTENTIAL to be a 5 star recipe. I have made it twice just to see if I could make it work. One MAJOR item that was missed in the instructions is to wrap the bottom of your springform pan in foil before allowing the water to touch it. The first time I made this, the water seeped into the pan, causing the crust to get soggy. In addition to this, here are the modifications I made: I didn't add any sugar or cocoa to the crust, as I thought it was chocolaty enough with crushed oreos. I used exact measurements for everything else & used approx. a 1/3 semisweet chips and 2/3 giradelli bittersweet chips mixture. I baked about 60 minutes & turned off the oven with the door closed for about 15 minutes, then cracked the door for another 45 minutes. Once the cake is chilled in the refrigerator, it firms up nicely. So, don't be afraid to make it. It's incredibly rich tasting and a great St. Patrick's Day dessert!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches