My reviews (49)

Lemon cream filling

Lemony whipped cream filling. A wonderful filling for cakes.
Reviews (49)


08 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: reeniemac
This recipe worked well - thanks
 
17 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: Cake Lady
This filling is delicious! I bake custom wedding cakes and my brides adore this filling in French vanilla or lemon cakes. I do call it "Citrus Filling" instead of lemon, though. I think it has a little too much orange flavor to call it lemon. Forget the cake...I could just eat the filling with a spoon!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: Jesscam
this is a great lemon filling! I filled a white sheet cake with this filling and topped with a whipped cream frosting and fresh fruit slices. I brought it in to work an got rave reviews!! not a day goes by with out someone asking when I'll be bringing in another cake !!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: KATHYDUKES
Great recipe and will make again but with one exception. I will use only the yolk of the egg without the white as the white wanted to curdle a bit. Adding an extra yolk, I think this icing will thicken up more, which it needs. Could eat the icing alone for it is fantastic!!! Can't wait for all to enjoy on Father's Day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: tucsonmom
I read the other reviews and changed the lemon to orange ratio just a bit. Instead of 1/2 cup of OJ, I did 1/4 cup of OJ and 1/4 cup of lemon juice. I also took another readers suggestion and substituted the one egg, for two egg yolks instead. This turned out AMAZING!!! I made a vanilla cake for my daughter's first birthday and this was the perfect filling!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: Simi
Very nice filling-- I thought it was much better served very cold (as in, leftovers after the cake had been stored in the fridge). I think if I make it again, I'll omit the whipped cream-- I liked the thicker, gel consistancy of the plain filling.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
20 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: COLL
I brought a cake with this filling inside to a restaurant where we were having a birthday party and the chef and owner tasted it and I had to give him the recipe. Everyone loved it. I make it all the time now for special cakes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jan 2004
Would definitely call this an "orange filling". I was a little disappointed. It seemed more fluffy than a cake filling should be, and the cake was wobbly with this filling inside, which made it more difficult to ice, a little too sweet as well. I probably will not use this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 May 2003
Reviewed by: JL8MP31
This is a great filling. I used it with the Creamy White Layers cake and the Special Buttercream Frosting recipes from this website. It is not overly tart and it was easy to use and didn't ooze out when I put the top layer on and frosted the remainder of the cake. I used lemon zest instead of orange zest because I didn't have an orange handy and it still tasted great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 May 2009
Reviewed by: Rachel
This filling is great! I use it every time I make a yellow cake, and I have no problem with it going out the sides of the cake. A trick I use is to make a "barrier" around the edge of the bottom layer with butter cream, and only put filling in to the edge of the butter cream ring, not over. Happy Baking! Thanks for a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches