My reviews (22)

Cassandra's Lamb Chops

This dish is absolutely superb! I've always loved lamb and I bought it at the store not knowing what to do with it so I used my imagination. It's moist and tender, full of flavour.
Reviews (22)


18 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: BAJATHECAT
Made only a couple of changes - roasted the garlic with olive oil and Italian Herbs. I mixed the olive oil and red wine together, added the oil from the garlic and a dash more Italian Herbs. I had two racks of baby lamb, so I split them, rubbed them with the roasted garlic and marinated them for about 5 hours. They were awesome. Made an easy port/red wine sauce to go with. Thanks Cassandra! This was my first go at lamb - great base recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: JULIEANNEF
My husband loves lamb so I thought I would give this a try. It was very easy to make and my husband loved it...I will definitely make it again. I made 4 chops instead of 2, but didn't change the amount of garlic, used the same amount of oil and just poured the wine in until it covered the chops.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: ANASYRIA
I was really excited after reading the reviews for this. I have made lamb with wine before and didn't think there was much risk. I wasn't impressed at all and won't be making again, I have to agree with the previous reviews; waste too much olive oil and the combination of thyme and red wine did nothing for me. Sorry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: FUNKYDEMON
I've been vegetarian for nearly 15 years and I've never cooked meat in my life -- I've never even touched raw meat. Making this recipe was my first attempt at cooking meat, and let me tell you I was totally PARANOID about cooking the meat properly. I made this for my meat-eating fiancee. Not only was this recipe incredibly easy to make, my fiancee says it's the best lamb recipe he's ever eaten at home, and second only to one he had in a restaurant. Very moist and flavourful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: VJHAYES
These lamb chops were wonderful. I roasted my garlic with dill and rosemary and retained those herbs when I marinated them. The wine gave them a lovely, and not overpowering flavor. I made some mint sauce and broiled them. GREAT!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: CLAMARAMA
This recipe wasn't bad, but the combination of red wine and thyme didn't work for me. I'll probably make it again, but won't put in the thyme next time. Also, I used about half the amount of olive oil in the recipe over three lamb chops (in a really small dish), and it was just fine. Personally I can't afford to be marinating things in massive quantities of olive oil and throw that precious oil away the next day!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 May 2011
Reviewed by: KittyKapow
I was looking for baby lamb chop recipes on google and read this wrong, and prepped six baby chops per the recipe and then marinated them overnight before realizing, so I decided to continue along with the wine and just cut down the cooking time. (did 5 mins a side but they could have used 6) Turned out great. I used fresh thyme instead of dried, and also saved the oil from the marinade to use for the cooking - all nice and garlic/herb infused, plus using a cup and a half of olive oil on one meal is a bit luxe for my wallet.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Caroline C
I misread the recipe, and added the red wine to the marinade. I cut back on the olive oil since 1.5 cups sounded like way too much. Marinated the chops for about 8 hours, and cooked them in a skillet for about 4 minutes per side. They turned out perfectly - tender, juicy, and the marinade didn't overwhelm the flavor of the lamb. Thanks, Cassandra!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: KitCat
This recipe was tasty! After reading some of the other reviews regarding the red wine "not going" with the lamb, I decided not to add and it was just fine. I also butterflied the chops to allow them to cook evenly. I discovered I didn't have any thyme and substituted with herbs du provence. The meal paired nicely with an arugula and manchego salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 May 2010
Reviewed by: nice1cole
Loved every bite! The recipe was definitely easy to follow. I did a little tweeking to it... I put all the ingredients together, added seasonings that I commonly use for meats, and let the chops marinate overnight with the wine...FANSTASTIC!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches