My reviews (19)

Pecan jam

A spicy blend of pecans, ginger and cinnamon cooked into a rich jam. Spread on toasted muffins, crackers or whatever. It might be good in tart shells too. Have fun!
Reviews (19)


18 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Cassandra
Tasty, unique, and successful. To avoid a grainy sugary mess, cook until sugar is dissolved and ingredients are well combined, as indicated in the recipe. To avoid making toffee...well...don't let it boil, as indicated in the recipe, and especially not to hard crack stage, which any seasoned candy maker will tell you is the only way possible to turn sugar into hard candy. I would have given this only 4 stars because I did find it a little too spicy (and I love spicy stuff), but I thought an extra star was in order to help balance poor reviews from reviewers who could not possibly have followed the recipe to a tee considering their stated end results.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: RUBYWIFE
This was a disastrous recipe for me. I made this jam based on the good review it had. I have been cooking for years and knew that if it turned out well for someone else, then it would for me too. Alas, it was awful. I followed the recipe to a tee and ended up with toffee, not jam! I am now experimenting with making more, but adding water, and not cooking it so long. The last batch I experimented with was almost perfect. As soon as I figure out exactly how much water and how long to cook, I will post the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: CLAIRESMOM
I don't understand the negative reviews some have submitted. This recipe is DELICIOUS! I've made it for gifts and the recipients are absolutely raving about it. It does set up a little on the thick side, but if you warm it in the microwave for 15-20 secs. it's perfect!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: SuzyQsBread
AWESOME!!! Folks...if you dont let the sugar dissolve and then simmer the mixture for at least ONE FULL MINUTE, of course you will end up with a gloopy mess...the full minute of simmering ensures that every grain of sugar is dissolved...if even ONE grain remains undissolved, it will go grainy again once it cools off...think making candy/fudge
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Tanya Belt
Very odd recipe. First I was intrigued by it; Then I read the reviews and was almost intimidated by it; Decided to give it a go anyway; While cooking it, I thought I had made a terrible mistake (as it was a grainy lumpy mass in my pan and I tried to stir it while letting it get hot enough to dissolve the sugar but not hot enough for it to boil); finally I added a bit more butter and some water to it--so the sugar would have something to dissolve into; Finally I had something that resembled jam!...however my success was short lived. After canning it and cooling it, it's returned to the crumbly sugary state it was before adding the water. Clearly there has got to be some liquid missing in this recipe? I found another one on another site I will try...its basically the same recipe with the addition of 1/2 C apple juice.) For what it's worth, it tasted fantastic before it cooled and hardened.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Kara
Excellent recipe. More of a pecan butter than a jam though. I did add about a tablespoon of honey to the mix, to help with the consistency, and it added a nice flavor. Very good on toast or biscuits.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: JIMMYGIRL
Yum....Reminds me of pecan pies like Mom used to make! Very good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: TIMER1
I followed the directions as written and was so disappointed. It came out crumbly like apple crum topping. I was so looking forward to a jam like consistancy. I wonder if maybe there are some ingregients missing?
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Diane Krebs-Clark
I made this for my husband who loves pecan pie {I don't like it at all}. He LOVES it! He said it's like having pie on his toast. His favorite is on wheat biscuits. Was easy to make.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: ELFINDANCER
This was an odd recipe - I was sooo excited to try it, but disappointed by the results. I wasn't sure what the final consistancy was supposed to be. The picture looks transluscent, but mine was very fudge like, tan & opaque. Lastly, the flavor had an odd sourness too it - perhaps it was the vinegar, or the combination of vinegar & ginger? Anyway, its a neat idea... but I think I'll try some different ingredients next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches