My reviews (27)

Mamgu's bara brith

Mamgu means grandma in Welsh. The recipe (if I'm at all truthful) doesn't belong to my mamgu but a family friend's nan! Bara brith means speckled bread. I love this cake spread with butter and a good cup of tea. Tips, if the cake browns quickly in your oven cover the tin with greaseproof paper and return to the oven. Although this cake is translated as bread it is more of a cake so don't be scared if you find you've sliced a cake not a piece of bread.
Reviews (27)


Comment:
17 Dec 2010
Lilywhite said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I upped the spices to a teaspoon each and it comes out divine
 
Comment:
04 Feb 2010
rosie23 said:
Something else. This tea loaf is very good , very moorish!!!!!!!!!!
 
17 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: john_50sco
third time making this went down a treat i just added some spice as we like spicy
 
04 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: rosie23
great recipe, easy to do, taste is excellent!!!!!!!!!
 
06 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: cardifflad52
First time making and now in oven smelling nice at 2am would have licked the bowl clean but thought i use a spoon instead so thank you for sharing , oh i used one spoon of spice and cinnamon
 
25 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: mary28
Easy to follow recipe tasted lovely with butter or cheese or on its own. Went well with ice cream for pud. Will make again.
 
17 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Lilywhite
Beautiful loaf, very easy to do, fab!
 
01 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Gizmo120
Really simple recipe. Lovely moist loaf.
 
17 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: leatrix
Absolutely delicious! I'd never tasted this tea loaf before and as I needed to road test some recipes for the upcoming school, St. David's Day event, I decided Bara Brith would be perfect. The recipe was super easy to follow and came out beautifully. Can't wait to make it again for the event now I tweaked only a smidge and added a full teaspoon of spices
 
23 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: HairyBear
I used a full teaspoon each of cinnamon and mixed spice. Added a teaspoon of baking powder too. Added the zest of a small lemon to the mix. Made a glaze of one tablespoon of orange marmalade with the juice from the lemon, warmed in a small pan and brushed over the (pierced) cake as it was cooling on the rack. Lushness 👌
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches