My reviews (29)

Mamgu's bara brith

Mamgu means grandma in Welsh. The recipe (if I'm at all truthful) doesn't belong to my mamgu but a family friend's nan! Bara brith means speckled bread. I love this cake spread with butter and a good cup of tea. Tips, if the cake browns quickly in your oven cover the tin with greaseproof paper and return to the oven. Although this cake is translated as bread it is more of a cake so don't be scared if you find you've sliced a cake not a piece of bread.
Reviews (29)


Comment:
17 Dec 2010
Lilywhite said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I upped the spices to a teaspoon each and it comes out divine
 
Comment:
04 Feb 2010
rosie23 said:
Something else. This tea loaf is very good , very moorish!!!!!!!!!!
 
17 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: john_50sco
third time making this went down a treat i just added some spice as we like spicy
 
04 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: rosie23
great recipe, easy to do, taste is excellent!!!!!!!!!
 
06 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: cardifflad52
First time making and now in oven smelling nice at 2am would have licked the bowl clean but thought i use a spoon instead so thank you for sharing , oh i used one spoon of spice and cinnamon
 
25 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: mary28
Easy to follow recipe tasted lovely with butter or cheese or on its own. Went well with ice cream for pud. Will make again.
 
17 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Lilywhite
Beautiful loaf, very easy to do, fab!
 
01 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Gizmo120
Really simple recipe. Lovely moist loaf.
 
25 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: Angieyates
Worked a treat. I always thought fruit loaf was dry but after eating some homemade Bara Brith in a B&B in Anglesey I thought I’d have a go and this loaf was just as good if not better! I didn’t put the cinnamon in because I’m not a huge fan but the mixed spice was good and I put a teaspoon full in!
 
09 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: EdM
I’m loving this recipe! Very easy with delicious results. Like many others I at least doubled the spices and added ground ginger. The first time I made it I used dried fruit I had on hand: raisins, cranberries and currants. Now I’m off to the races. The latest batch I’m calling “Tropical Bara Brith” and have used a few currants, orange cranberries, pineapple and, wait for it, about 1/4 cup of dark Hawaiian rum. I also put on an apricot glaze when they came out of the oven. I also cut down on the sugar since they were a little sweet. I also baked these in mini loaf pans so I can give as gifts. They took about 40-45 minutes to bake. I do think the baking time in the directions is way to long. I bought a lot of different dried fruit so will keep going. My tiny Welsh Nana wasn’t much of a baker, but she would have loved these.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches