My reviews (116)

No-sugar-added blueberry and banana wholemeal muffins

For the health-conscious breakfast eater, this is a great substitute for fattier counterparts. You can use plain flour in place of the wholemeal flour if desired. Other fruits can be substituted as well!
Reviews (116)


23 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: carina62
made this without blueberries as I didn't have any. Very nice and will make it again
 
Comment:
22 Feb 2011
fluffgirl said:
Used different ingredients. I added 125ml of milk & 125gr of cereal oats to the recipe.. They turned out lovely.. I might add some cinnamon or a little muscovado sugar next time. To give them a little more flavour for myself, but they are perfect for my diabetic mother as they are just now!!
 
Comment:
18 Apr 2010
Roobarb said:
Used different ingredients. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and since I couldn't find blueberries had to suffer with tinned tropical fruit - but I found this still came out delicious and was incredibly easy to make. Depending on whether you're after the chunks or not, you can also blend the liquid ingredients first to make it easier to mix! :D
 
24 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: deeduck48
so quick and easy, making these for a playgroup so im deligthed they are so healthy!!!
 
11 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: Jenowuk
I really enjoyed these. I often find muffin recipes too sweet, and the fruit in these was enough for me. I didn't have blueberries, but used raspberries, which may have helped. Would definitely recommend for diabetics or those on aa diet.
 
24 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: LaLinda
I was looking for something that I could make for my baby. These are perfect. He loved them and even my sweet toothed husband liked them. I didn't have wholemeal flour so I used 200g normal flour and 50g oats. I also used frozen fruits of the forest which tasted amazing but resulted in red stained baby clothes. So it's a snack for home. Next time I might try it with chopped apple so it's a less messy snack when we are out and about. I will also try less baking powder because I thought I could taste a hint of baking powder. Although my husband said he couldn't.
 
23 Jan 2018
Reviewed by: scrubs
Followed the recipe almost to the letter, just had about 30gms more banana. texture was lovely, but had the over riding flavour of baking powder.
 
16 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: JennyMcCalmont
Substituted roast butternut squash and around a cup of splenda instead of bananas and added vanilla and cinnamon. Texture is fantastic, really moist and very tasty. I might try it with bananas next time!
 
19 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: ohmisslaura
Moist and not too sweet, without the sugar! Amazing, would highly reccomend
 
09 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: Ellie89
I made these for my toddler as we had some bananas on the turn. They are super easy to make and really tasty - especially as I'm not really that keen on bananas myself! I used three small bananas which weighed more like 300g and were very ripe, but I didn't thoroughly mash and kept lumps for texture. I also used frozen blueberries - perhaps using frozen rather than fresh helped to sweeten up the muffins as a lot of juice 'leaked' out to the rest of the muffin. Oh and I added a pinch of cinnamon too.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches