My reviews (29)

Homemade natural yoghurt

For us DIY-ers, this is an easy way to make creamy, smooth yoghurt at home! It tastes GREAT, and it works! It is yummier and cheaper than shop-bought. When you read it, you might think it is too involved... but really, you just let it sit in the warm water, checking the temp every now and then. It actually does its own work - kind of like letting bread rise. I use the time to get other things done around the house. Don't be scared off - it's really pretty easy.
Reviews (29)


27 May 2009
Reviewed by: dannersmom
Delicious! A great starter recipe. If you like it thicker/thinner just work with more/less pwdr milk. Work with it a few times and you'll be able to taylor it to your personal taste. Plain yogurt is supposed to be "sour" and will become stronger tasting the longer you let it incubate. Different starters can also give you a different outcome. Look for starter yogurt that has at least 4 types of live cultures in it. I love this in my granola and my husband eats it everyday to keep his finicky digestive track healthy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: Dave K
This can be flavored by adding 2-3oz of your favorite coffee syrup just before incubating. I've tried flavoring with jellies, but the results can be inconsistent and watery. Also, for an extra creamy treat, try making your yogurt with half & half. Probably not the healthiest treat, but it sure is good!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: CPCATH
If you have a gas piloted oven, you can leave the mixture in it overnight in a lidded glass bowl. (Pyrex workes well) Yummmmmmmmy
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: New to Cooking
The receipe is great as it is. Another alternative-take 2 cups lukewarm milk(whole milk for creamy yoghurt) add 2 tsp store bought plain yoghurt.keep it overnight in a warm place. you'll have the yoghurt ready in the morning. i do it all the time.works very well especially in summers. i rarely buy yoghurt as in india that is how we make yoghurt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: txbaker
Great yogurt! I only used 3 TBsp of dry milk powder because I didnt want it to taste like dry milk. I also added 2TBsp of sugar. I have made this three times and it is always great. I incubate for 6 hours for great milld sweet yogurt it is nice and and thick too. I used White mountain yogurt as started and it worked the best. I used Fage 2% as starter second time and I went back to White Mountain for the third it was creamier both were very mild. I highly recommend. I used my crockpot filled with 115 degrees water and turned on to warm while I prepared yogurt then I turned it off and filled my jars. Then every 2 hours I just turned in on for 10 min on Warm to make sure it was at 110 degrees. works great who needs a yogurt maker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Naomi Witzke
I am the original submitter of this recipe. Just wanted to say that you can also make this in the slow cooker - I just tried it last night and it came out great. It takes about twice as long (14 hrs for me) but it's mostly hands-off, so you're not tied to the kitchen or hovering around the stove.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: claudia
I use a quart of whole milk , The ones that are in those Tetrapacks containers you don't have to warm the milk or do anything just pour it and mix it with the yogurt. I also but yogurt starter that I buy at my local heathfood store, they are envelopes with powder containing the cultures,you store them in the fridge and they keep for more than a year. So I use one of those for my first batch and then use one of the yogurts that I made to make a second batch and so on until the It becomes a little to bitter for my taste,then I start with a new evelope.They go a long way and they are not very expenxive (10 envelopes for about 4.00 Dlls)I also use a yougurt maker it so much easier, just plug set time and forget about it until it beeps.Can't be any easier that that. I also tried it in my oven and it works good too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Reni
Thank you for this very detailed recipe. My yogurt didn't turn out very creamy, but a bit lumpy. I imagine this was due to the fact I used fat free ingredients. It also has a bit of a 'sour' taste, but again --this is probably because I didn't use sweetener. I actually really enjoy the taste of it now, and don't think I'll buy store bought ever again. Thanks again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Mamacita
So much easier than I thought! I am not much of a cook and was very intimidated by all of the temperature measuring, but it was really easy and very forgiving. I first tried it in a pan and a crock pot both and found the crock pot to be much easier. When the water got hot (but not too hot to put my finger in quickly), I switched it to warm. Temperature ranged from 100-150 in the pan and it still turned out great. 4 hours and I had my own homemade yogurt! I also added a tablespoon of agave nectar and a tsp. of vanilla to add a little flavor, and then threw some fresh blueberries on top - so good! Also, I was able to fit 9 mason half-pint canning jars in the crock pot, so I adjusted the recipe accordingly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Harmonica
I make this all the time. I use skim milk though and I almost never have powdered milk so I just skip that. For the incubation period, I put the yogurt in jars and place them in my small ice chest. Then I fill water bottles with hot tap water, cover the ice chest, and change the water every couple of hours if I think of it. Sometimes I make this in the evening and let it incubate overnight so I don't change the water. It always turns out great. I usually add a little vanilla or raspberry extract and a little sugar. It tastes so good! I serve it with dinner almost every night. I like it better than store bought yogurt.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches