My reviews (42)

Homemade yoghurt

This is a really inexpensive way to make lots of yoghurt, and it's kind of cool to boot! It also offers and endless amount of possibilities of flavours for those watching sugars. After the first batch, you can use a tablespoon of your own homemade yoguurt instead of shop-bought.
Reviews (42)


07 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: SherryAmour
My schoolmate and I used to make yogurt all the time when we were in college, and did not have a lot of money. It tastes better than store-bought too! We placed 1 Tabl. of active yogurt into a glass 9 x 12 baking pan. We used whole milk, half & half was even better! Mix yogurt with 4 cups of milk. Place in lowest setting on oven, place on top shelf of oven, and leave over nightin closed oven. You should have yummy yogort by morning. Mix with your favorite fresh fruit. Sweeten with honey, sugar, or your favorite sweetner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: plundquist
Cool! What I have found that works great for incubation is to seperate the milk/yogurt starter mixture into small mason jars, put the jars in a pot, and fill the pot with enough water to come up to where the milk/yogurt mixture is in the jars. Then put a candy thermometer in the water. Turn the burner on really low and get the water to between 110 and 120 degrees, and keep it there for 4-6 hours. Worked like a charm, and then you just put the lids on the jars and pop them in the fridge and you have individual servings all ready to go!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: APSTAATS
I tried using 4 cups of nonfat milk instead of the dry milk and water, and it turned out perfectly. I warmed up my oven a little, and then left the light on to keep it warm, left the mixture in there overnight, and put it in the fridge when it had solidified enough. I think since my oven was not that warm, I had to leave it in quite a bit longer, but it turned out really good, and was fun to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: Johnsonnestchen
After some trial and error with the incubation period ( I do not have a gas oven) I found that wrapping the container in a hot pad on the lowest setting for about 8 hours produced PERFECT yogurt...rich and creamy. The kids love it too...what a time saver and a great way to use my over abundance of milk powder!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Jen64
Yay! This was soooo easy and delicious. I made it in a large glass mixing bowl and put it in my electric oven overnight with just the light on. If it isn't thick enough in the morning I set the oven for 100 and leave it for a couple hours. Delicious! I was intimidated to try making yogurt and thought you had to have the yogurt machine. Now I will now be making it at least twice a week without the added nuisance of a machine taking up space. My son can eat 2-3 small containers a day (and he's only 6 1/2), and he loves this so it is going to save us a lot of money.***I just made this again and wanted to add that fresh yogurt is already sweet! Who Knew!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Marvel's Kitchen
Agree with Corrine and Sherry. Milk is the way to go. Powdered milk gives it a funny taste. I use skim milk, but whole and half and half is great if you don't mind the calories. I've a recipe in my recipe box that gives some hints including how to make runny yogurt creamier... even how to make "yogurt cheese" All the best
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Mom10
As a college student in Southern Utah I would make the yogurt, put it out in the sun and by the end of the day it was perfect(as long as the sun remained out all day) You can also add jam, vanilla, or sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: sobachatina
This was ok. The flavor was good but not amazing. Make sure not to stir it or it will separate and be runny.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: HomeMadeYogurt
I think this a great start for venturing into the world of homemade yogurt. However, the steps described can lead to a great deal of variability. Also, you can use any kind of milk, and not restrict yourself to powdered (or use it all).
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: annanthony
This yogurt was easy to make, but it tasted like the dry milk, which I didn't prefer. It works well when used in pancake or waffle recipes, but my husband and I didn't like it on its own or with granola.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches