My reviews (256)

Chocolate syrup

A runny chocolate syrup made with cocoa powder. Lovely poured on ice cream or over chocolate sponge pudding.
Reviews (256)


11 Mar 2018
Reviewed by: Mel_x
This recipe was so quick and easy to make absolutely delicious. I'm pouring it over some Brookies I made yesterday. Based on others reviews I also done 150 ml milk and 150ml water. As the sauce was a tad to rich for me when I'd finished I stired in some salt to balance the sweetness
 
28 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: iknowutoox
Really easy recipe and very chocolatey too. I made chocolate sponges and poured the sauce on top. It was a bit on the runny side for me but I think that was because I didn't let it boil for long enough!
 
01 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: ByMarce
Very good. I used 2/3 cup milk in place of the water after reading other reviews. Turned out a little thick after it cooled so I stirred in couple TBSP milk to get my desired consistency. 10-18-08: The consistency of the sauce is perfect when I use 1 cup milk in place of the 1 1/4 cups water with out adding extra milk at the end.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: CANDL
Wonderful ! With 5 kids and a husband who eat ice cream almost every night, the cost of chocolate syrup gets up there a bit. I changed it a bit - 1/2 c white corn syrup (thickened it just enough), 1/2 c milk and 1/4 c water, instead of the 1 1/4 c water. It's perfect this way. Just the consistency of Hersheys. Kids say we should "never buy the store stuff again"
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: HOLLYJOLLY
My boyfriend thought that this was great! I did what someone suggested and added the 1/2 cup white syrup, 1/2 cup milk and 1/4 cup water instead of the 1 1/4 cup water.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: SMOMBOUR
This recipe was so easy and it was exactly what I was looking for. I have tried 3 others before this one, and when you put them in the fridge they are too thick (consistency of peanut butter). This one is truly a sauce. I did use milk instead of water and added 2 Tbsp corn syrup to thicken it a bit. I can put this recipe in the fridge and without having to heat it up when I take it out, I can pour it on anything I want. I put the sauce in little jars, and will hand them out at my chocolate tasting party this weekend. It makes a great gift!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 May 2007
Reviewed by: mayura
A rich chocolate flavor, definitely will come in handy for all sorts of things =) I used 1 cup water. It also thickens as it cools, so don't worry if it seems runny at first.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: IMVINTAGE
After reading the reviews, I cut the water down to a cup & simmered it (over low heat so as not to burn) for about 5 minutes. It was still pretty thin but OK. Poured it into a hershey's chocolate syrup bottle I had saved & used it in my grandson's milk. He was happy so I am too. Thansk for the recipe...I don't think hershey's is going to get any more of my money. ;o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: DIANA GAY
This sauce is wonderful! Add a pince of cinnamon for a little mexican touch. It takes a few minutes of stirring to cook...it is well worth any efforts put forth in stirring.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
This was really easy to put together and tasted good too. I used milk instead of water and spread this over a shortbread crust. I was out of vanilla so I substituted almond extract and had good results. Will use this again. Thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches