My reviews (256)

Chocolate syrup

A runny chocolate syrup made with cocoa powder. Lovely poured on ice cream or over chocolate sponge pudding.
Reviews (256)


27 May 2001
Reviewed by: BERTHA MAY
Good taste. Cook in a pot big enough to avoid boiling over. The best part - low fat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
I thought this was great-and I made it as stated, did not use corn syrup or milk. I made this in the 1st place to avoid corn syupr in the purchased variety, and I wanted it to last a while, so no milk. It is fine as is! It is a choc sauce/syrup, not hot fudge! I use this in choc. milk and it's wonderful. So much better than storebought choc. syrup. I put it in a used, clean Hershey's syrup bottle.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Dragonfly
This was fantastic. But I did make a few changes. Use very high quality cocoa. The darker the better. Whisk the sugar and cocoa together until no lumps remain in the pot before adding other ingredients. I used 1 cup of skim milk. Stir, using a whisk, the chocolate mixture constantly over medium heat. Once the mixture comes to a boil, stir constantly for 1 minute. The timer on the stove comes in handy for that. Immediately remove from the heat, and stir in 1 tsp of butter until it's melted. Let the chocolate sauce cool completely for several hours, stirring occasionally. It thickens as it cools.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Sixx
sooo good! it did harden a bit at the bottom, but just keep stirring it, and the rest is grand and i'm happy it makes good chocolate milk too! i used condensed milk instead of water, mixed with a little bit of skim milk so it was creamier
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: jsavage16
Really easy to make and tastes great. I used soy milk instead of water and it tastes better than any sauce we can get at the store.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: MMG
The only reason I gave a star was because it looked like chocolate. I did what I was told, but it smelled bitter and tasted soooo bitter! I put on pastries and if I had used something else, they would have been perfect. I was very very very disappointed. It didn't even taste like chocolate. :'(
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: KrisZimm
I will never by chocolate syrup again. This stuff is perfect as is. No need to add milk, as you are only going to put it with a milk product anyway!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Escoop
No weird preservatives or ingredients like the ones in the stores. Made at home, from scratch, normal ingredients and in a matter of minutes! (I used Dark Chocolate Cocoa...Yum!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: RUNBECK1
This recipe is a good start but it is much better when made with milk. I tried it with 1 cup of milk in place of the water like other reviews suggested and it worked well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: sparkytoo
Why pay $3+ for chocolate sauce when you can make this for much, much less? I did not tell Hubby that I made this (with no variation from the recipe) and he said, "Oooo, Honey! This brand is the best!" (Okay, it's better than Hersheys!) :D It's a keeper! I may cut down on the vanilla next time, though! Thanks, Sal!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches