My reviews (256)

Chocolate syrup

A runny chocolate syrup made with cocoa powder. Lovely poured on ice cream or over chocolate sponge pudding.
Reviews (256)


20 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: helen
This is THE BEST. I made it for over 30 years and finally lost my recipe. Imagine my delight at finding it again. Originally it was on the side of Hershey boxes, I was so sad when they stopped printing it. Thank you for making my day! Helen
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Michelle
Good flavor but I also found it too runny. DO NOT add chocolate to thicken this. My husband and I tried to add semisweet baking chocolate and it wasn't the smooth sauce it's supposed to be, it keep small bits of the whole chocolate. Just use less water or try corn syrup. Next time I might make the syrup first (sugar and water) and when that thickens add the cocoa.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Andrew K.
Perfect! I substituted 1 cup milk for the water and added a splash of orange extract in the end. The amount of sugar in it scares me but I'm guessing any less and it would be too bitter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 May 2008
Reviewed by: angiehdavis
this is a great recipe as is, especially for kids. but my husband and i made it richer for us by using dark chocolate cocoa powder, using 1/2 cup less water, then stirring in 1/4 cup half and half (would have used cream if we had it!)with vanilla. yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Apr 2008
Tastes just like Hershey's and easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: KBcrocker
Yum! It was very good but instead of of 1 1/4 cup water I used 1 cup of milk, 1/4 cup water and two tablespoons of corn syrup just to thicken it up a bit. I also substituted raspberry liquor for the vanilla!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Megan
I was in the mood for a good bowl of ice cream with chocolate syrup and realized one problem--I didn't have any!! So I came to Allrecipes and typed in chocolate sauce. This was the first recipe I came to and with 4 1/2 stars looked like a good one to try!! It was yummy and hit the spot. I made half a recipe since I wasn't sure I'd like it and just wanted basically enough for one dessert. I told it 4 servings and then rounded down the measurements (it called for some strange amounts like 1/3 cup plus 1 tablespoon plus 1 teaspoon!!!). Still yummy!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: tonit22
Just what the doctor ordered, OMG!!! it was excellent it was the perfect combination of everything, i scaled it down to 2 and added a tad less water. OMG Perfect, im going for seconds so much for my diet
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: 3peaspod
I to added less water and omitted the vanilla but added a spoonful of creamy peanut butter. It tasted great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Mallard S.
This was quick and easy with onhand ingredients. It thickens as it cools, but I will next time use a tad less water. The consistency is similar to Hershey's syrup with a much more genuine chocolate taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches