My reviews (54)

Praline ice cream topping

This can be served warm or cold over ice cream. Also good over cheesecake. Store in refrigerator.
Reviews (54)


02 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: HUSKERMOM
This is so wonderful and quite easy to make. I doubled the vanilla and chose not to add the pecans. Instead of stirring in the milk I put the cooled mixture in my blender, added the milk and vanilla and whipped it for about 3 minutes. Creamy, smooth and delicious! My sister requested caramel sauce for our July 4th get together and I can't wait to share this one! (I have the container taped shut to keep me out of it!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: margiebirds
This sauce was very delicious. I made some without nuts and some with nuts to serve at a sundae party. It was a big hit. Warning: Be sure not to add the milk until after the other ingredients are cooked. I added the milk too soon for one batch, and the sauce curdled. It still tasted great, but had a funny texture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: What a Dish!
This was SO good!! Oh my gosh, it was good! Wonderful! The best caramel-y sauce I've ever had! And SO EASY! I needed to use up some evaporated milk (a cup, exactly!) and some large marshmallows left over from S'mores this summer so I made this to top Cheesecake Bars from this site. It is yummy on those! I'm sure it would be great on ice cream too. I used walnuts instead of pecans, just because that's what I had. Will have to try pecans next time. When I was stirring in the evap milk at the end, it didn't look like it would incorporate at first, so I got out the ol' whisk and that did the trick. This would be delicious without the nuts as well. This was so good I had to eat a few spoonfuls as I was putting it away!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: Roxanne J.R.
This is the absolute best caramel sauce I have ever tasted! I made it to go over Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake (also found on this site) and I omitted the nuts. I used the remainder on ice cream and talk about good! Yum, Yum! -19/09/07 *Update: 16/10/09 - I have made this recipe countless times since I first found it and I have had trouble on occasions with the brown sugar not melting completely. When this happens I just pour the finished sauce into my blender and let it run for a minute - smooth sauce! This truly is the best caramel sauce I have come across and I use it for almost any recipe which calls for caramel topping. It is also great with some peanut butter blended in as well - but not too much to overpower the caramel flavour (just eyeball it) It thickens up a great deal with PB in it but is so delicious either way!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Holiday Baker
I have to admit I was a tad disspointed in the outcome of this. When I read the ingredients with the pecans, marshmallows, etc. and I saw the picture I thought this was going to be a thick and gooey ice cream topping. It appears to just sit on top of the ice cream in the picture. Anyway, it does taste like a melted praline candy, but it is very "soupy." It is good but really sweet, but so are pralines. I just wished it was much thicker. But, this would make a nice change to a regular caramel sauce on cheesecakes or other desserts where a thick dessert sauce is not neccessary.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 May 2008
Reviewed by: Gail Cobile
Our favorite restaurant serves a fabulous bread pudding with a caramel/praline-type sauce. My own bread pudding is my hubby's favorite but he was not too happy with my sauce. This sundae topping duplicates the taste of the one in the restaurant. OH MY MY MY...this is off the charts! Many, many thanks for a fantastic recipe which is in my permanent recipe file!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Erin
Absolutely to die for! Easy and yummy, what a combo! Goes perfectly over cheesecake or ice cream.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: bellepepper
I made half this recipe exactly as written. The flavor is very good, but my sauce turned out quite thin. I had difficulty while stirring in the evaporated milk. There seemed to be a crusty coating on the bottom on my pan that just wouldn’t incorporate into the sauce. So to remedy that I put the sauce back over low heat and that enabled me to get my sauce totally combined. The flavor of this is excellent, but I wished it had been a little thicker. I’d also be tempted to add more pecans. I’d make this again and maybe cut back a little on the evaporated milk in the hopes of getting a thicker sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: AMEHNEY
This is SSSSSSSSSSSSOOOOOOOOOO good. Even though mine didn't turn out, it was really runny (all my fault), I poured it over my vanilla ice cream and it was absolutely delicious. Even better than the store bought caramel. I probably could've just drank the rest MMMMMMMMMMM.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: K. Duncan
This sauce was fabulous! I omitted the nuts and served it warm over a blondie brownie with vanilla ice cream. It was a big hit with both adults and kids.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches