My reviews (701)

Chicken quesadillas

This is a great recipe for parties. I freeze the leftovers; they reheat quite well. The zesty chicken and cooked peppers are a succulent delight when mixed with the melted cheeses. Cut the quesadillas into wedges and serve with soured cream and salsa.
Reviews (701)


25 Jul 2016
Reviewed by: rees11
IV just made these, they were very nice, I put mine standing up in some ramekins to stop the cheese from running out while in the oven
 
09 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: TRACYCOOK
Excellent Quesidillas! Just wanted to gives a heads up on two issues. First, most fajita mixes contain MSG (some people are adverse to this, understandably) Here is a good mix recipe: 3 Tbsp. cornstarch 2 Tbsp. chili powder 1 Tbsp. salt 1 Tbsp. paprika 1 Tbsp. sugar 2-1/2 tsp. crushed chicken bouillon cube 1-1/2 tsp. onion powder 1/2 tsp. garlic powder 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes 1/2 tsp. cumin Preparation: Combine all of the ingredients in a small bowl. Pour into an airtight container.Makes the equivalent of 3 packets of commercial or purchased Fajita Seasoning Mix. Also, to crisp a tortilla; spread tortilla with butter before baking or wet with a bit of water. Awesome recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Wilemon
Pretty good, but I made these again and changed things a bit and liked it better. I omitted the bacon, instead of green peppers I used green chili peppers, used green onions and made my own fajita type seasoning that was not as spicy. Used two tortillas instead of folding one, brushed lightly with butter then grilled on the griddle about 3-4 minutes per side. Turned out perfectly browned and crispy, not dry at all. Served with a mixture of sour cream, salsa, and guacamole. Thanks for the initial idea.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: DENA.B
Here's the answer for crusty tortillas - wet them before baking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 May 2006
Reviewed by: Elly B
My family loves these. I also had the soggy bottom problem, so I brush a little olive oil on the tortillas before I pop them in the oven. That makes them nice and crispy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: KELSTOUCH
O MY this was great! I love quesadillas and it turned out just as described! One thing I did was use a little less fajita seasoning as too much overwhelms the mild taste of the cheese and green peppers, then I used 2tbl. of italian dressing while cooking the chicken to give them a little moisture because we like our quesas saucy. Delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: skram
My family loved this recipe. I cooked the chicken first and then i cut into cubes it's much easier this way.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: MANOMES
Super good, but need to add a note for those using low-carb tortillas. These work so much better on a grill pan than baked in the oven. I've tried baking them in the oven with and without brushing with oil and/or butter, but the tortillas always come out very hard. Suggestion: Spray a frying pan with veg. oil spray and grill them at med. heat for about 4 min. on both sides -- they turn out tender and crispy. Also recommend sprinkling some cheese on the tortilla before adding the meat mixure, and then the rest of the cheese on top. This helps hold everything together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: JOSIE
Oh sooo yummy!! I love quesadillas and this was just a wonderful and simple recipe for them. I didn't use the full packet of the seasoning mix because I don't think I used as much chicken as the recipe calls for. I used 8 tenderloins and half of the packet seemed to do the trick. I cooked these on my George Foreman and served them with homemade pico de gallo and guacamole. Will definitely be a repeat. Thanks Heather.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: RUCIFEY
These were wonderful!! Though we did make some changes. We added about 1/2 lb of mushrooms (quartered) to the veggie mix and we only used 2 chicken breasts (there are only 2 of us) and we turned them into wraps and my husband added sour cream to his. Even with only 2 chicken breasts we had 6 wraps in the end (plently for the 2 of us for dinner and for lunch the next day!) very nice of the wallet. Thanks for posting it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches