My reviews (701)

Chicken quesadillas

This is a great recipe for parties. I freeze the leftovers; they reheat quite well. The zesty chicken and cooked peppers are a succulent delight when mixed with the melted cheeses. Cut the quesadillas into wedges and serve with soured cream and salsa.
Reviews (701)


21 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: RAVANER5810
This recipe was absolutely delicious. I didn't need as much green and red peppers as called for and I chopped and sliced all my veggies very thin. Thin I just prepared them as the fajita packing instructed. Also I would recommend brushing them litely with butter or water so they aren't so crispy. All in all though a wonderful recipe with lots of flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Jacey
To make your Quesadillas either spicier or milder there are a couple of things that we do. First I never broil my chicken. I cook my chicken in a skillet, cutting it into bite size pieces about half way through. It gets the nice browned flavor. I season it well w/pepper, garlic powder etc. beforehand. I get my peppers and onions going, then put them all in one skillet, adding a tiny bit of water and taco seasoning. Depending on how much seasoning you want will depend on how much water you should add. For more heat, I add Crushed red pepper flakes. My husband likes his food "hot", so his quesadillas also get the jalapenos and diced green chiles. Once you let your chicken mixture sit for a few minutes you'll get a thickened little sauce. Even that you can control, again by how much water you add. In a large skillet, I add a little bit of oil, add one tortilla, put chicken filling on one side adding shredded cheese, fold over. I flip when it gets a little golden brown. Is always crispy because that's how we like it. I'm only cooking for 3-4) people so it might take me 10 minutes (at the most) at the stove with the skillet/tortilla part. I'll cut up one for everyone while I'm cooking the others, sometimes the next with another variation. If you had a lot of people to feed, using the oven method might work a lot better. I just had never tried it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: DREGINEK
I though these were tasty. I would also recommend a little more chicken and green onions. Good and easy! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: barbiej
I make something similar to this recipe, but shred a supermarket rotisserie chicken to save time. To make the sauce, I use medium taco sauce and chili powder blended with the chicken and cooked veggies. I spray a baking sheet, add a tortilla, then fill with chicken/veggie mixture and cheese. Top with another tortilla, then etiher spray with cooking spray or spread with melted butter and bake. I use a pizza cutter to cut into wedges for serving
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
09 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: TXGirl
Too much fajita seasoning! You are better off using taco seasoning or creating your own seasoning. I added fajita seasoning and ended up throwing the chicken away beacuse it was way too salty. I made more chicken adding garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, salt, and pepper. I added salsa and cheese to the mixture before baking the quesadillas. I left out the peppers and bacon bits. My husband loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Cindy in Pensacola
Very good by the TRACYCOOK review. I made the fajita seasoning from her review. I made some mexican rice with it and it was good together. I did brush some butter on the outside of the tortillas before baking, helping them to crisp up. I didn't add the bacon piece, I don't think it needed them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: blessedmom
I also have a similar recipe. I use all three colored peppers, red, green and orange and purple onions sliced. Also subustitute regular taco seasoning for the fajita, we find the fajita mixes to be bitter. Its a hit every time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: ROBINANNE2
This was very good. My kids all liked it. I didn't use packaged fajita seasoning though. I used my own marinade of juice of 2 limes, juice of 1 orange, 2 minced cloves of garlic, 2 tbsp olive oil, 1 tbsp chopped cilantro, 1 tsp cumin and 1 tsp salt. I marinated the chicken for about 4 hours and then grilled it. I reserved some of the marinade and sauted the bell peppers and onions in it. I used a red onion. I only used shredded Cheddar and I left out the bacon bits. I would make this again with these changes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: lexlangley
So good!! This was an amazing dish and the entire family loved it. It was so simple and easy to make...I agree with the other reviews about brushing oil on the bottom of the tortillas when putting them in the oven. I also used the Mexican cheese blend which tasted delicious...will definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: IKESMA
We love these quesadillas, but it is very important that you use the right fajita seasoning mix. I used a generic store brand and hated it. But the McCormick brand fajita seasoning is amazing. Totally delish!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches