My reviews (59)

Ham and wild rice quiche

This is a nice change from ordinary quiche. Full of ham, wild rice, mushrooms, red peppers and flavoured with a touch of Dijon mustard. Great way to use up any leftover Christmas ham.
Reviews (59)


24 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: Amy Luncan
I didn't have swiss so instead used cheddar (and cut the amount to 1 1/2 cups). Very good and will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: TomOB
I bought two 9 inch pie crusts and the ham/rice/veggies in this recipe was plenty for both pie crusts so I reserved half and scrambled three more eggs. The only real change I made was to saute 8 oz. of sliced mushrooms rather than using the canned stuff. Very good! I liked it a little better with some dashes of hot sauce, not sure I would include any in the egg mix though.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: dianedsk
This turned out really well. We had a ton of leftover spiral sliced ham, and tried this quiche. Other than increasing the ingredients a little bit (I had a bigger pan and more crust to fill), I kept exactly to the recipe. Everyone liked it, even the mustard-haters. The pre-cooked crust is nice and flaky, and the filling tastes great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: St.PaulMom
I'm from Minnesota, where wild rice is plentiful & a new recipe is always welcome. This is really yummy. I like to serve it with a white sauce, ladled lightly over the top of individual servings of this quiche. "Canoe" brand also makes precooked wild rice. It's in a can in the rice aisle. Don't knock it 'til you try it.....it's got a great consistency for soups and egg dishes, is not at all mushy, and is a HUGE time saver. Drain out all of the liquid well before using. Raw wild rice is delicious, but takes a very long time to cook out all of the "crunch". I prefer it to be a bit on the softer side, especially for soups & recipes like this. I think it's best when the grains are "popped", curled a bit, and are lighter brown in color. Thanks for the delicious addition to my collection!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Oct 2015
Reviewed by: Beverly Downey Wyckoff
I added carrots, celerty, and switched up the cheeses to equal amounts of mozarella, parmesean and cheddar. Added a little garlic salt to taste & YUM. All gone.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Loren
First quiche ate and made within 15 yrs, and I liked it. Liked it alot. Made according to recipe, but used Uncle Ben's wild rice medley instead. Could not really notice the rice as only a 1/4 cup. Nice change in meal rotation and good to eat anytime.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Jessica M.
I loved this dish. I'm giving it a four because I added artichokes that I sauted with shallot and garlic instead of the mushrooms. It was very good, but pretty differet from the recipe. I also omited the rice to cut down on prep time. I was a little leary of the egg sour cream mixture, but it came out perfectly. It had a nice consistancy. I will be making it again as written.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
31 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Mavis Greene Tobin
We enjoyed this quiche. Easy recipe and tasty. Didn't have the green onion so I used dehydrated chopped onion which was fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: theidealist
Tasted a bit more eggy than the quiche we are used to, but it will be repeated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches