My reviews (190)

Baked Aubergine and Tomato Rounds

This is a simple, easy and low-fat vegetarian recipe. They are also a great accompaniment to a grilled steak!
Reviews (190)


Comment:
05 Oct 2010
Something else. added a little oil (from a sundried tomato jar) olive oil would also work, some black pepper, squeeze of lemon and some basil
 
05 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: passion4fashion
Very tasty and simple great side
 
11 May 2007
Reviewed by: ElTarpo
Simple, light, quick, and really quite good. After a couple of bites we declared this dish an everyday keeper. It even looks attractive on the plate. I do think the recipe is improved by taking a moment to add a little seasoning. Here are the details of what I did: Instead of using a greased cookie sheet, I used parchment paper. Before cooking, using a paint brush, I brushed each side of the eggplant slices with olive oil to coat the entire surface and then seasoned well with salt and black pepper on both sides. Then I sprinkled on some dried basil (had no fresh basil on hand). Topped this with the tomato slice and then topped that with FRESH grated parmesan cheese. 400 degrees for about 20 minutes did the trick; timing was not too critical.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: JESSICASRECIPES
I thought this was delicious! I did it a little differently though. I layered it this way: eggplant, parmesan, tomato, pepperjack cheese and topped with basil. This is a great variation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: LABOUGIE
Following some suggestions here, I brushed the eggplant lightly with olive oil and lightly seasoned both the eggplant and the tomato with salt, pepper, and basil. With a ripe heirloom tomato and freshly grated parmesan, this was delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: DELACMT1
This was a good way to use eggplant, although the recipe should note the eggplant should be peeled.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 May 2006
Reviewed by: Michelle
Very good starter, much better than similar recipes which call for tomato sauce. I brushed the eggplant with olive oil and sprinkled them with garlic salt. I also added oregano on top of the cheese. It turned out wonderful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: JoJoWife
I made this appetizer instead of dinner yesterday. It turned out very tasty and looked great with few alterations. I took the eggplant skin off (just my preference) and lightly brushed each circle with olive oil. I added seasoning (salt, pepper and basil) in between the eggplant and tomato and tomato and cheese. I used some mozzarella and some Parmesan cheese since this is what I had on hand. I baked it covered at 400 degrees for about 35 minutes and then uncovered for about additional 15 to make the eggplant soft which is the way I like it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Isabelle Green
Scrumptious! I took the advice of some others and added spinach, mozzarella and fresh basil on top. This is definitely a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Lo
This is an extremely easy and delicious recipe! I did not brush the eggplant slices with olive oil to avoid unneeded calories, and they came out just fine. I did season with salt and pepper. On a couple I layered some spinach between the eggplant and tomato slices, and those came out good too. Highly recommended recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches