My reviews (45)

Crab mini filo tarts

These tasty cheese and crab tarts are my favourite starter to impress guests! Great for Christmas or another special occasion, but you may want to double or triple the recipe.
Reviews (45)


19 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: weepiggies
Made these last Xmas as a starter, added prawns for a bit more texture and they were great. Guests loved them so much that I have been 'ordered' to do them again this Xmas. Easy to make, filling and pastry shells can be made in advance then assembled and baked off when you need them.
 
30 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: suzanne14613usa
I think I will try these using Puff Pastry Cups, a little less time consuming. I can't wait to try them. Anything with crab will be great. Happy New Year from the US
 
14 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: Stoney50
Fab - u - lous!!!! So easy and delicious!
 
24 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: MGEE73
The tartlets turned out a bit bland - added chopped artichoke hearts, chopped cooked shrimp, 1 tb fresh parsley, 1/2 tsp garlic powder & 1 tsp cayenne powder. Will definitely use more herbs next time and sprinkle shredded cheese on top for a nice brown top. UPDATE: Made this recipe again - same as above, except for fresh garlic and adding minced red onions & shredded mozz cheese on top. Had too much filling leftover and decided to try baking it inside cremini mushroom caps. One word - DELICIOUS! Brushed the outside of the mushroom caps with a mixture of regular and garlic-infused olive oil, stuffed with filling, and drizzled dry white wine on top, followed by olive oil. Topped off with shredded mozz cheese. Baked approx. 5 minutes at 400, 15 minutes at 375 and then broiled for another 5 minutes for a nice golden top. Served hot out of the oven, it was a nice contrast to the phyllo tarts. Would change my recipe rating to 4.5 stars if 1/2 stars were an option. This one is definitely a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
19 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Tulips*n*Truffles
So so good with just a few modifications. I used premade shells like most everyone, and added chopped up artichoke hearts to the mixture. I also added a few spices (onion, garlic, parsley) and about a teaspoon of Old Bay. Filled the tarts to the top, sprinkled some finely shredded mozzarella cheese over them, and baked them. Stuck them in the fridge, then the next day put them back in the oven for 10 minutes - AMAZING! Very good recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Sarah Ann
Very tasty, a little on the mayonaise side, but still delicious. My store didn't have the phyllo cups, only the regular dough. I just used a pizza cutter to cut squares and pre-baked them for a few minutes in a muffin pan. Worked great---actually probably a little cheaper than using the pre-made cups. Thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Mary
Wonderful recipe! I couldn't believe how easy it was to make these and how good they tasted. If you buy shredded swiss, you could probably finish the prep work on these in less than 5 minutes. This is definitely going into our standard recipe list for parties.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: BCSHELLY
I made these tarts last night for a dinner party, they were a HUGE hit!! Everyone loved them. I made a double batch and froze some for Christmas. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 May 2007
Reviewed by: MEEMEEBULUGA
The perfect appetizer: nice to look at and nice to eat. The phyllo shells are crunchy and the filling is flavorful, a very satisfying combination. I added some chopped baby shrimp to the filling and that added some extra color as well as flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: NANCYLOUISEB
Easy to make and everybody enjoyed them. Would make them with fresh imitation crab meat next time. I added chopped artichoke hearts also
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches