My reviews (45)

Apple chutney

This easy apple chutney is a great companion for so many dishes - from sandwiches to pork chops. It is a sweet and tart apple chutney that is gorgeously spiced. Best made when local apples are in season.
Reviews (45)


21 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: Laursloudrip
I haven't made it yet, a query, is it okay to bottle and store in a cool place for 3 or 4 weeks before using it?
 
23 Oct 2017
Reviewed by: nadia
After reading several reviews I used only 1 piece of root ginger and only half of the vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar), that came out great so the 4 stars I am giving are for the amended recipe with less ginger and vinegar. I also swapped the cardamom for a bit of chilli powder and added 1/2 tsp yellow mustard seed. The amount is definitely way too much for a meal but for bottling it was perfect to make it worthwhile.
 
20 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: HelenLucas
It would be useful to give an approximate weight of apples as they vary so much in size. Haven't made it for that reason.
 
23 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: ROZ21
I have to give this recipe a 5 because it won me our mock-Iron Chef competition! We put it over pheasant, we used red wine vinegar instead and it turned out great. Just the right amount of tang and sweetness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: jaynalee20
A great base recipe b/c it alllows you to add and substitute many ingredients so you can make it your own. I used nutmeg, cinnamon, plain old vinegar, and ground ginger, a small amount of maple bacon to make it my own. GREAT with pork chops!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Ulrike
We will have this chutney along with our x-mas roast tomorrow on Christmas Eve. I prepared it today and just to make sure we won't be disappointed we all had a spoonful. Wow, we love it! It is soo delicious and I'm sure it will become one of our family favorites.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Emily Powell
It was just liked baked apples. Really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: RICHARD7
I needed pear Chutney and I will change this one to smy needs
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 May 2008
Reviewed by: Sara
I hosted a dinner for 50 and 5 x the recipe so everyone would have a quarter cup portion. I used pears and it turned out fabulously! I cooked it a little longer than recommended and it was better the second day. Everyone loved it. Definitely a repeat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: UMMADAM
Excellent! I used old, mushy, sweet apples (decreased the sugar) and it turned out great. Next time, I'll use less ginger since it was a bit overpowering.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches