My reviews (29)

Courgette chutney

When your allotment overflows with courgettes or marrows like mine does, this is a brilliant chutney to make. Everyone I've ever served it to loves it.
Reviews (29)


Comment:
13 Sep 2010
chutneymad said:
Can this be stored like normal chutney in a jar in a dark cupboard for a year plus?
 
05 May 2011
Reviewed by: Diana
This is a fantastic courgette chutney recipe! It's great for using up that glut of courgettes. I followed to the letter, just adding half of a red pepper, finely chopped, for some nice flecks of colour. I also found that I needed to cook for more like 90 minutes to reach the right consistency. This chutney is fab for sandwiches, with roasted meats, pork chops, with cheese... the list goes on! Thanks Margaret!
 
Comment:
05 May 2011
Diana said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I added just half of a red pepper, finely chopped, for some nice flecks of colour. I also found that I needed to cook for more like 90 minutes to reach the right consistency.
 
Comment:
01 Sep 2010
thegriffin said:
So can i eat this straight away?
 
17 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Rebecca.Henwood
I made this on Tuesday and won 1st prize in our local show on Saturday, beating 11 other entries!! Many thanks Margaret for this recipe - so glad I found this website. Looking forward to trying other recipes now.
 
Comment:
20 Aug 2010
pancho said:
Used different ingredients. I used 50% cider vinegar to 50% white wine vinegar and a little more of the chillie flakes
 
Comment:
12 Sep 2010
Used different ingredients. My courgettes had grown to marrows: not sure if using the more mature veg had any effect. I kept the skin on the marrow for a slighty chewier texture. I added 2 tsps of mustard seeds and I also used cider vinegar. I found that it took about 90 minutes to reduce to the proper consistancy.
 
12 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: MichaelNimravus
This reduced down to about 650g of chutney. Very tasty and I had a big dollop, warm from the pan, with cheddar cheese and crackers.
 
29 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: 48lbsLighter
Yummy! It beats Branston that's for sure lol
 
30 Jul 2014
Reviewed by: DebTreg
Fabulous chutney, I didnt have mustard or chilli but its still great. Cheese, sausages, apple...delish
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches