My reviews (20)

Slow cooked squirrel

This stew recipe is for those of us who are hunters. It is easy - you can go to work while it simmers in your slow cooker, and when you return home, dinner is ready.
Reviews (20)


Comment:
21 Feb 2013
SQUIRREL! You have to be joking I couldn't even eat a rabbit. Whatever.
 
06 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: susierw
haven't tried this recipe yet, but can confirm that when living in the country a neighbouring farmer supplied shot squirrel - free range and killed instantly. Treated it like rabbit, slow cooked and it was delicious so can imagine that this would be great. living in town now so shooting squirrels in the park would not be an option - in country they ravaged veg gardens so were not popular!
 
09 Mar 2017
Reviewed by: Extradry
Sounds yummy. Where can I buy squirrel for this recipe? Or do I need to buy a gun and hunt my own? Also, does the recipe call for red squirrel or grey squirrel - or doesn't it matter? Could I substitute other rodents if necessary, and if so would they need to be nut-eating by nature?
 
06 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: SKOMP
I'm only giving 4 stars because it tasted a bit nutty. +
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Pam Ziegler Lutz
This has potential, but I felt it was a little bland. It needed more seasoning, possibly some fresh garlic and more salt and pepper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: RAINDOVE1
This is the first time i tried squirrel w/cabbage,it was pretty taisty,this is a good recipie*
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
17 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: CAFFINEHIGH
Excellent! Tastes like chicken.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: SUPERESC
Y'all should try this! The hard part is skinning it, but once that's done, its easy as apple pie!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Lilly
this is the same receipe my mama always used when we were kids. i think i'll make her a pot!!! thanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: CHEF-IN-TRAINING
EXCELLENT! It takes a veeeeeerrrrrrry long time to cook, but is worth it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches