My reviews (253)

Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding

A local restaurant served a version of this recipe. I went crazy over it and decided to create my own with leftover baguette. It's great served warm or cold.
Reviews (253)


14 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: LindaFraser30
The whole family loved this pudding! So simple to make and tastes beautiful. Brilliant recipe :-)
 
15 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: jessie8james
God this bread pudding is gorgeous!!!! I've made it twice already & everyone loves it!
 
10 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: CARIST
I can't give this 5 stars because of two things: the amount of sugar (it does not actually need ANY sugar at all) and the baking instructions, which should have mentioned that the water for the water bath must be scalding hot, otherwise it'll take longer to cook. Those changes aside, this is a wonderful recipe. Lovely with a scoop of ice cream. One other minor issue is that the chocolate chips like to sink to the bottom. Next time I may put half the bread mixture into the pan, add a layer of chocolate chips, add the rest of the custard, then the rest of the chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: VEGGIRL1
This was soo yummy. Really good for using up old bread and over ripe bananas. I doubled the amount of chocolate chips and used torn up cinnamon raisin bread and half a loaf of old french bread. I also added a cup of chopped walnuts and a sprinkle of cinnamon and nutmeg. I put this in a glass 9 X 13 at 325 and it only took 40 minutes to cook. Better than homemade oven fresh chocolate chip cookies. I will make this for company.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
22 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Dianemwj
I thought the idea of chocolate banana bread pudding sounded great. Then I read the recipe and saw that there was only one measly cup of chocolate chips in the recipe. I searched further and found another recipe that was needlessly complicated, but it had one idea I liked, and that was to toss the dry bread cubes with 1/4 cup of melted butter, and then toss that with the 1 cup sugar and 1/2 cup of cocoa. I increased the bread to 6 cups, and the milk to 3 cups. I added vanilla and one more banana, then baked this in a 9 by 9 baking pan for 35 minutes. It came out beautifully, rich and chocolaty, but not really too close to the original recipe. It needed way more chocolate to satisfy my craving. Oh, I also used one whole package of chocolate chips instead of one cup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Kelly H
I made this with no chocolate, the gnarly black bananas that I keep in my freezer for banana bread, the equally gnarly stale bread ends that I keep in my freezer for stuffing, lots of cinnamon/nutmeg/clove, and 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of a cup of white. Breakfast of champions. Bet it'll be really good with maple syrup, like a banana pancake. (I wouldn't recommend syrup with the full amount of sugar though, it'd probably taste like a lollipop.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 May 2004
Reviewed by: Stephanie Morissette
I, just like another reviewer, was trying to find an alternative to banana bread to use up some ripe bananas I had. I am really glad that I found this recipe. I added cinnamon and a touch of nutmeg which gave it depth and, although I am a huge chocolate fan, I would have preferred raisins to chocolate chips in this bread pudding. I also mashed up an extra banana in the egg and milk mixture. This made the pudding even moister and gave more banana flavor. I will definately be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Oct 2001
Reviewed by: SUTTHINAN
It's to die for pudding! Perfect combination of milk, french bread, banana and choc chips. I loved it so much that I had to make the second batch on the same day! Thanks for your sharing this. Please add to the last line that it will take 1 hour to bake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: Kim Treat
(UPDATE 2008: Had a new idea for Thanksgiving, to use 3/4 cup canned pumpking in place of the bananas for a holiday treat. WOW...SUPERB!) I stumbled upon this recipe looking for a way (besides banana bread) to use overripe bananas. Instead of adding sliced bananas...I put mine in to blend with the egg/milk mixture. I just may never make banana bread again. What a treat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Jun 2003
Reviewed by: SPICEQUEEN
I made this last night for 4 people (half quantities). It's good - but very filling, so small portions are advised. I really got 5 servings out of it. I cut the sugar down too from 1/2 cup to 1/3 and it was still very sweet. Next time I'd use less sugar still. It's very quick to prepare - about 10mins tops.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches