My reviews (689)

Best chocolate courgette cake

This is a moist fudgy type cake. Sweet but not extremely sweet and makes good use of courgette! You can ice it with chocolate icing or cream cheese icing.
Reviews (689)


26 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: judemymum
Probably the ultimate chocolate cake. Certainly the best I have ever tasted. I made icing from cocoa and molasses (run out of icing sugar) and put a layer of ginger jam in the middle. It is not over sweet, but fulfils that need for an intense chocolate experience. Fabulous.
 
29 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: 48lbsLighter
Wow! Made it in muffin format as well as a big cake which we iced with buttercream icing....de-licious!
 
05 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: billy99
This is so simple to make yet so so delicious!
 
26 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: louisesuggett
excellent as a gluten free chocolate cake . Used doves'gf plain flour. Reduced oil -300ml mixed sunflower oil (mainly) and veg oil ( oilseed rape ) - would >nuts Cover with a cream cheese icing
 
17 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: EmMap39
I loved this cake. I've made it a few times now and do it in two 1lb loaf tins so I can freeze one and scoff the other. I used 200ml of oil following other comments, and have found that this cake is better on the second day - not sure why. I sent a batch off with my MiL to her church coffee morning and have now been requested to make more for the ladies. I squeezed the courgette in a tea towel to get some of the moisture out, not sure if you're supposed to as the instructions didn't say, but the cake was delicious so will continue to do so. Served with Nutella Buttercream Frosting - perfecto!
 
13 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: AlmaMartyr
I made these this afternoon and they are delicious. I only used 200ml of oil, and added chocolate chips instead of walnuts. Used a Nutella Fluff frosting, which was yummy. Can't taste the courgette at all, and the kids have devoured it! Brilliant!
 
15 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: suzykins
Topped mine with apricot glaze and chocolate frosting. Only used 200ml of oil, still lovely and moist.
 
06 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: lynned55
My kids favourite chocolate cake now. Most requested b/day cake. I dont put in the cinnamon or nuts. Very rich and moist
 
14 Jul 2012
Reviewed by: cupcake02
Very moist and fudgy. Everyone loved it - no one could taste the courgette The only criticism is it was too oily so I would use less oil next time
 
21 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Meme77
Turned out fab will make it again reduced sugar and oil still very moist just felt there was to much oil and sugar
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches