My reviews (9)

Seedless blackberry and elderberry jam

Foraging time is on us again and seeing as these two berries always seem to live in close proximity to each other, why not combine them in a jam. It's difficult to give precise measurements and weights for this jam, it depends how juicy the berries are that you use. The important thing is that you get the sugar to juice ratio correct as detailed below. The amount of sugar you need will depend on how much juice the berries give out
Reviews (9)


30 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: Serenflo
I made this with just blackberries. It turned out well in spite of me being new to jam making and not quite getting the setting point right, went over a bit, so mine is very thick jam, but tastes great. I'm planning to try it as written with the elderberries next time. Really simple recipe to follow.
 
22 Aug 2014
Reviewed by: TrishaGoff
This is the second year I have made this jam, love the simplicity and the fact most of the ingredients are free, I use a plate in the freezer to check for the setting point, doesn't take long, really recommend this recipe, I make them for Christmas pressies.
 
09 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: sparkalex
Just made this for the first time, but I'll definately be making it again. Absolutely gorgeous! I didn't have the quantities in the recipe, so I just measured the juice and divided the weight of sugar accordingly.
 
05 Sep 2017
Reviewed by: Debjh
I made this yesterday as managed to gather more wild blackberries & decided that the elderberries nearby were too good to miss too! Having never used elderberries before I thought the fact that it was seedless would be a good introduction to this fruit. It came out perfectly and I will definitely make it again, although I have to say the sieving part was no fun at all (but very worth it) Ha Ha! My 14 year old son declared that it tastes amazing (high praise indeed from a teenager) I have no hesitation in giving this recipe 5* thanks to the person who posted it
 
04 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: BrianRussell
I have made this jam before, it is very tasty indeed. I love the autumn.
 
18 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: umer_sarwar3
A simple method to make strawberry jam free of calorie sugar.
 
18 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: a7Xrock
Made this though for some reason I don't think I used jam sugar. However, it didn't set properly so it was more a sauce than a jam but the kids love it, so that's all that matters
 
29 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: ChrisLowis
This was a great recipe: We didn't have that many elderberries, so I changed the ratio to favour the blackberries. I also added a couple of tablespoons of vanilla bean paste right at the end, which gives a lovely mellow vanilla aftertaste to the jam. A winner!
 
18 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: ClaireBadger
Amazing recipe. Have made both with the elderberries and without (just blackberries). Used a sugar thermometer to ensure I reached the crucial 104 c . Now on third batch as everyone loves it so much .thanks so much.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches