My reviews (285)

Foolproof sponge cake

This is a perfect cake for celebrations which need to be made ahead of time. It is a stiff cake with a moist texture so perfect for carving for novelty cakes. Wonderful torted with jam and buttercream or just left and covered with marzipan/icing, this cake is so versatile you can pretty much do anything with it! It will never curdle and is so simple even my 3 year old has made it, never fails and always tastes perfect!
Reviews (285)


06 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: chrismc17
Loved this cake but could anyone help me i have a 10inch cake tin and im unsure about how to work the recipe out to fill the tin can anyone help?????
 
01 May 2012
Reviewed by: barbn
Just made this for a two tier wedding cake 10" and 8" and one made for a taster cake for home, great will use it again used one and a half times the recipe for large one baked for 2 hours smaller one was baked for one and half hours, my oven temp gets quite hot so I baked on a lower shelf and wrapped the tins with a sheet of brown paper. lovely cake came out 3" deep
 
14 Feb 2013
Reviewed by: tiggy
This is an excellent recipe, I doubled it to make a 10inch birthday cake...had a bit left over so made a few cupcakes as well. I cooked the big cake for 2hrs on 140 and it turned out perfect. fantastic recipe thankyou.
 
Comment:
07 Jul 2012
tartybaker said:
Can anyone please tell me how far in advance I can make this cake
 
16 Mar 2013
Reviewed by: Stefcc1
Love this recipe! Does anyone know how this can be adapted to a chocolate sponge?
 
15 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: cupcakekate
I made this in a 10"pan. If you want to do this the quantities you need are 20oz (565g) self raising flour, 10oz (465g) each of caster sugar and butter/marge (I used half of each), 8 large eggs or 9 medium ones, 5tbsp milk.Cooked at 150C for 1hr 30 mins. I filled it with a lemon buttercream and blackcurrant jam and iced with fondant icing. Rose really evenly and easy to carve. Might benefit from some vanilla extract?
 
Comment:
26 Aug 2012
Solamak said:
What size eggs are used (or weight of eggs)?
 
18 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: louisemarson
Wow! I am amazed. I have just made this cake and it is perfect. So many other recipes have failed with me but this one is foolproof. The cake was firm, gently sweet (allowing room for the sweetness that jam and icing could add) and was really easy to cut. I would highly recommend this to anyone who wants to make cake in different shapes, or one that holds its shape really well. Yum! I made it 2/5 the size as a I didn't have enough eggs, the resulting cake filled a standard 6 inch cake tin and came out well risen. I will be making the full size one next time!!! The quantities were: 136g self raising 112g caster sugar 112g butter/marg 2 eggs 22ml milk
 
10 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: quaidebaby
was great best sponge iv ever made!! done excatly what it said lol. i added extra ingredints 1 tea spoon of vinalla extract and 1 table spoon of baking powder also instead of caster sugar i used normall sugar. was great thanx
 
19 Nov 2012
Reviewed by: zyakub
Made this cake soo easy and so simple and tastes great One question tho I want to make in 6" round pan so will half the recipe but how to add eggs? Do I add 2 or 3 eggs anyone whose tried in 6" helped will be appreciated Thanks
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches