My reviews (43)

Gorgeous Chocolate Mousse Cake

Very rich chocolate mousse over a rich chocolate cake layer and topped with chocolate ganache and chopped nuts. Great for special occasions. This cake takes TIME to make, and TIME to set. It's worth every second of preparation, and is a hit every time!
Reviews (43)


24 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Kat
I've made this recipe twice now, the first time i made is exactally as the recipe states but found the bottom cake layer to be bland and too dense for my liking. The mousse part on the other hand was to die for. So, the second time I attempted to use brownie mix for the bottom layer and everything else remained the same. OMGOSH.. it was like eating a slice of heaven... i got soooo many compliments on it. I'm making it again today to bring to a dinner party with a few friends... I can't wait till dessert!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: CREATIVESPACESID
This cake is really elegant however DO NOT try to make it without a springform pan. I tried to just mold the moose onto the cake after the moose set and let's just say it wasn't pretty. The ganache was not smooth and it squished everywhere.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: CHOCOLUV
absoulutaly delicious!! too die for ( the calories were worth it ) i loved this cake but had too restrict myself from haveing too much at a time- i had to live off brussel sprouts for a week afterwards well worth the effort - ideal for all the chocolate lovers out there!!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Beamgal
This recipe was a big let down. The bottom cake was tasteless, and didn't mesh with the texture of the mousse. I think it really needed a crust with more crunch. The mousse itself was incredibly rich, but it didn't offer much else. Just a poor combination of flavors and textures in my opinion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: CHCOOPER
This cake may be a little labor intensive, but it is well worth the effort. Not only is it a beautiful cake, but the taste is to die for. It really does need to set for 1-2 days in the fridge so that it is firm enough. I made this for Thanksgiving and my family fell in love!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: agriff
this was an exlellent cake, did not care for how hard the bottom was , will use a different cake or brownie mix when i make later today..
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
18 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: RIKELLE
OH MY GOODNESS! This was DELICIOUS!!! I used this recipe for a formal dinner party and my guests were absolutely raving. I was even asked if I catered professionally. It did take a lot of time and chocolate but was definitely worth it. Thank you so much for sharing this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: Frankie Lane-Odiorne
I tried this recipe twice, the first time the mousse was too runny .the second time I reduced the water to 1/3 cup and it was perfect. I got rave reviews from everyone who tried it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: Cindy
This recipe is outstanding...I have made this twice...the first time, I made it and stuck it right in the freezer after assembling because I was making a ton of food for a party, and the mousse didn't set properly but still received rave reviews...the second time, I left in the fridge for two days according to the instructions, and it set up perfectly. For the second time, I followed another reviewers suggestion, and used a brownie bottom, and used the Chocolate Ganache recipe posted by another on this site http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Chocolate-Ganache/Detail.aspx and it was divine. I made the ganache and poured it on the cake after it sat in the fridge for the two days, and then popped the whole thing in the freezer again until the weekend (for another party). Thank you Kristen...everyone said this was as good as or better than any bakery cake they've had. I would give it 10 stars if I could for all the accolades I received on this. It is SO rich...I need to brush my teeth immediately after eating.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Jan 2002
Reviewed by: LOHSE
The best chocolate cake my family and our friends have ever had! It looks like ready made when finished. However, it takes time!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches