My reviews (16)

Most marvellous mince pies

These are quite simply the best mince pies ever with a shortbread pastry and crumble topping.
Reviews (16)


Comment:
15 Oct 2010
born58 said:
Try halving the topping mixture,as i found there was far too much, and add apple slices on top of the mincemeat. Excellent combination and very morish unfortunately!
 
Comment:
11 Dec 2009
RobVann said:
Something else. I added cinamon to the crumble.
 
20 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: patpoole
I tried to make these a few days ago. Following the recipe exactly I was left with something that would not roll out in a million years. As I was doing the recipe I did wonder about the lack of any liquid as most other recipes show somw liquid. I n order to to be able to make the pies I did add some water and everything turned out well though I did not make the crumble, just putting a top on. I am not a skilled cook and it may be it was assumed that everyone should know that some liquid was needed. Perhaps we should be told. They tasted fine in the end.
 
23 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: amandah1959
These really are the best mince pies I have ever made. The pastry is delicious and the crumb topping is very different. The only thing I found is that I had loads of the crumb topping left over which I didn't know what to do with.
 
17 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: NicolaKernohan
I love mince pies but it really bugs me when i put the tops on and the filling spills out during cooking and then makes it so i can't get them out the tray. However this recipe is brilliant i had no such problems and i have even converted mince pie haters. I do think it would benefit from a dollop of cream on top.
 
22 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: Charlene82
Delicious, i added the cinnamon to the crumble and water to the pastry as people above suggested and turned out lovely. A crumble topping is such a good idea.
 
15 Dec 2017
Reviewed by: GarethJones
Lovely recipie, added an egg and some water to combine the pastry, lovely and crisp pastry! I also mixed cherry brandy in the shop bought mincemeat!! Awesome!!
 
17 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: ClaireSwinnerton
Added a small amount of egg to the pastry when mixing.
 
08 Jan 2015
Reviewed by: twiddlybits
These Mince Pies are identical in taste and texture of the ones my aaunty use to make many years ago, I had the recipe once but was lost. So glad I tried these out I agreed they are simplty the best! Had to make a few bakings as people were asking for more. I did make less than suggested recipe and I also made short crust lids as well as the crumble topping although I will probably just make a crumble topping next time. I think the pastry recipe can certainly be used with other ingredients all year round if one wanted to!
 
28 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: midge
Pat I've just read your review a bit late I know but this might help you to give these mince pies another go . Put all ingredients in bowl you keep working it together till it holds more or less together , don't roll it but take a teaspoon at a time and press in the bun tin it will take time to do them but the more practice you get the easier they become and without a dought I haven't had better .
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches