My reviews (2,756)

Best buttermilk pancakes

The combination of buttermilk and baking soda makes these pancakes as light as a feather! It makes quite a few so perfect for a weekend breakfast. Add a few blueberries for the kids or serve with bacon and eggs.
Reviews (2756)


04 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: doris6677
bit more prep require than other recipes but these are a quick win with kids as so big
 
09 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: catkiss
These pancakes are well worth the extra bit of trouble they take to prepare. We first had them Christmas morning and they went down a treat. And just had them again for Shrove Tuesday...Excellent
 
13 Feb 2018
Reviewed by: hollybrooks0527
to quote janice from friends OH MY GOD! these are THE best pancakes ive ever made.. i tweaked it slightly but only because i only had 600ml of buttermilk but it actually was the perfect consistency. literally only just stirred till combined and they were as fluffy and tender as you like. i added some cinnamon too but thats personal preference.
 
03 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: MollySeybold
The texture came out too thin and rubbery - I didn't have baking soda so maybe that was the issue. I also added more flour to thicken them up but even that didn't do the trick. The actual taste was pretty good though.
 
06 Nov 2016
Reviewed by: ivormonaghan
Chose this recipe by the picture. Mistake. Slightly salty and batter mix was too runny. At the end I added more flour to get a thicker batter and ended up with the thick pancakes I wanted.
 
15 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: HegeUsborne
Made these for a gang of hungry boys (and their parents) - huge success and easy too! I had in the past bought American pancake mix but they had a funny taste. These were just simply yummy.
 
30 Aug 2003
Reviewed by: KLUGLE
These have become my default pancakes. I made them again this morning. Use the old baker's tricks of letting your buttermilk, milk and eggs sit out for an hour before baking to get to room tempurature and you'll get increased fluff on these. And don't overmix. Be sure to leave small lumps of flour that break open when pouring out the mix on the griddle. I used blueberries today and they turned out great - coat any fruit you want to add in a bit of the flour mixture first and you'll find they don't all drop to the bottom. Great recipe. Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 May 2005
Reviewed by: TAMBALINA
It took a little tweaking and A LOT of time, but these did come out wonderful in the end. Like other reviewers, this made WAY more than the listed 12 five inch pancakes!! I could easily have fed my 5 family members with just 1/3 of the batter. The first batch I made (exactly as the recipe is written) weren't stellar. I found them to be heavy and strikingly like French Toast. (They DID make pretty good waffles as I had a TON of batter leftover.) On my next batch (scaled down to 1/3) I added one extra teaspoon of sugar and one teaspoon of lemon juice. My trick for getting these nice and fluffy was to let the batter sit for a day or two in the refrigerator. The oxidation of the lemon juice and baking soda really caused the batter to swell with all those wonderful air bubbles that make a nice, tender and fluffy pancake. Making this on Sunday night and using it during the week has made this recipe a staple in my home. My family can't get enough of them!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: Terri Watts Graber
Yum! I was out of buttermilk so I put about 1 tsp of vinegar (or you can use lemon juice) in the one cup measuring cup and then filled with milk. By the time I was ready to mix the two together, I had "buttermilk". I scaled the recipe for "4" rather than "12" because I was alone but I barely ate half of them. I didn't even use a fork, I just poured the syrup on a plate and dipped! Piggy, don't you think? I am saving the rest for tomorrow and will just toast them in the toaster-oven. Can't wait!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: anniefannie
These were delicious! They were so light and fluffy. The first time I made these I stirred the batter too much and they came out flat and slightly tough but the second time I barely mixed it and they turned out very tender and fluffy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches