My reviews (3,491)

Barbecued salmon with soy and brown sugar marinade

A simple soy sauce and brown sugar marinade, with hints of lemon and garlic, is the perfect salty-sweet complement to rich salmon. Even my 9-year-old loves this recipe!
Reviews (3491)


Comment:
21 Jul 2008
CYNDIEGRAN said:
Made it healthier. My husband really liked this one. I used 5 T lemon juice and 1/4 t. black pepper. I cut the soy sauce to 4 T. to lessen the salt flavour and used only 1 T. olive oil to cut calories. I also sprayed the grate with olive oil to keep the salmon from sticking. Turned out wonderfully.
 
Comment:
21 Jul 2008
WIDDY said:
Something else. I have one thing that I do every time I cook salmon. I always make a little foil parcel for each fillet and seal, leaving a little room for air to circulate inside. If you bake the foil parcels on a baking tray at 200 for about 15 minutes (slightly longer depending on number of fillets), the salmon cooks to perfection every time! This is a great recipe to use when preparing salmon in foil parcels... it poaches gently in its own juices and always comes out so tender and delicious!
 
21 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: hb1229
Delicious!! I made a few changes to the recipe. Intead of lemon, I used orange zest. I also added some fresh ginger and onion. In order to lower the sodium, I used 3 tablespoons of a reduced sodium soy sauce, and in order to cut calories, I ommitted the oil an used a foil tent to bake/steam. I also cut the amount of sugar in half and I opted for a light brown sugar. The salmon was moist, delicious, and I especially loved of the flavor the orange zest.
 
06 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Rebeccajr
Delicious! I added some extra ginger and fresh red chilli. Easy way to make salmon that little bit different.
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: SUEBATY
FANTASTIC! We are always looking for the next great Salmon Recipe. This one is now our favourite. Try it, you WILL like it....Thanks for the recipe!
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: TONIBARNETT
YUM! This is one of the best marinades I have tasted for salmon! I'd rather stay home and make this than pay for salmon at a restaurant with this recipe! The longer you marinate it - the better. I will make this recipe over and over again. I think this would taste good with other types of fish also.
 
Comment:
07 Jul 2009
arkil said:
Altered ingredient amounts. I dont use lemon in mine but add paprika, celery seed, onion powder,and allspice
 
21 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: PRSAXTON
Excellent recipe. The soy sauce and brown sugar blend wonderfully with the salmon flavour.
 
30 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: Jo0505
We live in Australia and I used this recipe for some salmon we purchased at our local market. My Hubby cooked it on our BBQ and it was delicious. Will definitely make it again.
 
18 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: itsmeagain
Delicious. cooked on the braai it stayed moist and it tasted amazing. I am sure this will stay a family favourite. I added a little more lemon and used a bit less soy sauce.
 

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches