My reviews (82)

Banana cake with caramel drizzle

Rich delectable banana cake that won over the in-laws from the original banana cake they had used for years!
Reviews (82)


20 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: LisaLashes
Wow! The most delicious banana cake I have ever had. I didn't make the drizzle sauce but we have loads left so I might have to make some later. Truly wonderful cake, thank you for sharing this recipe lots of luv xxx false eyelashes
 
02 Sep 2016
Reviewed by: Elliecakes
Tasty! Really spongy which is good for banana cake. Used self raising flour and all butter and a square tin. Really well balanced flavour.
 
26 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: MichelleChapman
This didn't look the nicest cake but it tastes fab. Went down a storm. Will make again.
 
15 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: mary8810002
OMG this recipe came out sooooo good after my modifications. I was hooked from the first bite! I halved the recipe and used: whole wheat flour instead of regular, organic cane sugar instead of white sugar , Extra virgin olive oil instead of veggie shortening,and soy milk instead of regular milk I ommited the pecans because they were not available at the time. I also put the cakes in two buttered aluminum loave pans since I did not have any bundt pans. I was expecting a catastrophe since when I was mixing the butters and sugars the olive oil floated a bit on top but in the end I got this beautiful delicious pound cake like dessert drizzled with tasty caramel sauce. The sauce was so good I see myself making it to coincide with some apples! This recipe is so easy and can be very great for events like garnishing with strawberries or bananas and leaving a bowl of caramel glaze in the middle, yum yum!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 May 2010
Reviewed by: Alicia N. Morgan
Although this cake was delish, there must have been an error in the recipe when it stated that you should pour the glaze over the cake while still in the pan, at least if you are using a bundt cake like the picture shows. I let the cake cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then turned it over onto a cake dish before I added the glaze. Other than that, it was fantastic, thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Lorrie
was very good, but just a regular cake texture. Someone mentioned it growing over the sides of the bundt pan, and since detest cleaning my oven, I made a bundt pan AND 3 muffins! This was the perfect amount in the 12 cup pan. Rose right up to the top without spilling over. TIP WITH THE SAUCE!!! Boil for 4 minutes. If using the bundt pan, cool and flip the cake onto a plate. Pour 1/4 of the hot sauce on the cake and let the liquid seep in. Let the remaining sauce cool for 15 or 20 minutes until it thickens and then pour the remaining over the cake so it stays where you put it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: Davidson Farms
Very good, I received many remarks about how wonderful it was. A nice change from traditional banana bread. I followed the recipe as far as the ingredients go. I baked it in a bundt cake pan and it rose above the rim of the pan. It also took 1 hr and 35min in my oven to finish baking. I allowed the cake to cool for the 10 min in the pan then turned it out onto a cooling rack. Then I used a spoon to slowly drizzle the glaze over the entire cake. It turned out very nice and pretty. Very moist! Make sure to allow to cool completely before covering.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
27 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Hakey246
I made tis cake for my sons 18th birthday. He has given up chocolate for lent. This was perfect. I baked it in a 9x13 pan and it was done in about an hour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: REGINAHARRIS
Very good flavor - not quite as dense as a pound cake should be, IMO, hence 4 stars from me and not 5. I substituted 2% milk for the heavy cream in the glaze and it was excellent.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: lovebaking
Awesome cake - easy to make. I only made 1 change. After making the glaze, I added about 1/4 cup of Praline Liquor to the glaze, poked holes in the cake and spooned the glaze over bottom and let it sit for about 10 minutes, turned it out and poked additional holes and added rest of glaze.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches