My reviews (119)

Barley and mushrooms with cannellini beans

A simple, hearty and tasty vegetarian dish. Good as a light main, side, or wrapped in a flour tortilla with cheese. I always make a double batch and freeze some.
Reviews (119)


27 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Themus
A big thumbs up from the whole family, including the one who doesn't eat pulses.
 
14 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: budsue
 
06 Feb 2016
Reviewed by: Lindasig
Just cooked this for lunch - delicious. Cut the quantities to make for two. Used a few chopped carrots instead of celery and chick peas instead of beans. Thickened the sauce at the end with a bit of flour. Will be making this again!
 
23 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: PGOETZ
This hearty dish is great. I added white wine to the broth, and fresh spinach at the very end of the cooking time. I also added fresh parsley and cracked red pepper for more flavor. I'll make this dish again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: KamTheCook
Yummy!!! (and good for you) The only thing I would do differently next time, would be: add half of the garlic, onion and celery closer to the end of cooking time. Their flavors got lost cooking so long (I also used pearled barley). Good job!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: j_marie330
Barley plus mushrooms equals tasty delicious. I sauteed all the ingredients on the stove and then transferred everything to a baking dish and cooked it the rest of the way in the oven so I didn't have to keep watching and stirring. I cooked it for an hour and fifteen minutes at 375 degrees and it came out perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
12 Dec 2002
Reviewed by: Marie Tou Ruzek
This dish was very easy to put together. I didn't have celery so I substituted carrots, which worked well. I added 1/2 cup more barley, as 3 cups broth is too much for just 1/2 cup barley. Next time I'm going to add sweet potatoes to this wonderful winter dish.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Chandra
Love it! I followed many of the other suggestions. I cooked the barley first in chicken broth istead of veggie broth. Then I set it aside and cooked the veggies and substitued water chesnuts for celery. Once the veggies were done and I added them to the barley at the same time as the white beans. Then I let them all warm up together and added some salt and pepper. It was enjoyed by everyone at our table!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
03 Sep 2003
Reviewed by: AMATULLAH
Yum!! I made this for my family and we just loved it, the next day I put the rest on the stove with some water and it turned into a wonderful soup!! I like it better as a soup and will make it again..
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
06 Oct 2002
Reviewed by: JUNEBUFF1
This is a really great recipe- the ultimate comfort food when it's cold outside. Next time I will sub some of the broth with white wine. I exchanged celery for water chestnuts b/c I don't care for celery and b/c I wanted the extra crunch factor. Be sure to watch the pot, tho. Mine was done in less than 45 min and almost got stuck to the bottom!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches