My reviews (15)

Chicken newburg

This chicken dish is fantastic if you are looking for something out of the ordinary, yet is very easy to make. Similar to lobster Newburg, but not quite as expensive!
Reviews (15)


19 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: muncey78
This was super easy to make. Didn't have any peppers the first night I made it so substituted with a bag of frozen peas - still tasted great, but can see where the sweetness and color of the red pepper would be nice too. Also, served over rice instead of bread so I didn't have to cut up for the toddlers - both kids ate it up in a heart beat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
05 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: MELANKAY
This was amazingly easy! I will steal components of this recipe for other things -- the sauce was so creamy but not too rich. I served it over rice instead of toast, which I think cut the flavor too much. I would add more seasoning next time if I used rice again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 May 2004
Reviewed by: none
A nice simple meal. I substituted Marsala wine for Sherry. I also added some frozen peas. I would use less salt or none at all next time since the chicken broth had enough salt in it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Anna
My husband loves this meal and makes it all the time. My daughter who is a very picky eater always eats the whole plate..
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Pheobe Alverson
This was SO good! I loved the nice subtle yet creamy taste. I added some peas to it, but TOTALLY forgot to put in the avocado! I love avocado, too. I won't forget next time! I'm excited for leftovers, too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
04 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: JJGRAHAM
I thought this was bland and boring. I haven't made anything "Newburg" before so maybe I just don't care for the flavors. If you make this, be sure to have all ingredients ready ahead of time...the cooking goes fast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
10 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: Erimess
I left off the avocado as I don't like it. Thought it was very good and a bit different. It had a good flavor and I was pleased to discover it didn't make the toast all soggy. However, I think this is 3 servings at most.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
29 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Dung Beetle
NIX THE SALT! I'm so happy I read the reviews before making this. Can't imagine what having that extra t. of salt tossed in would have done to the taste. This was very "Newburgie"....lol Flavor wise and it went over well with my family. I'm not a "Newburg" fan, but will give it a 4 for flavor and ease of making it. I'm going to try switching out the Sherry with white wine next time just for fun.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
26 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Meredith
Excellent recipe. Next time I will leave out the extra salt, as it was very salty. The sauce was creamy and flavorful. I used this as a recipe for leftover chicken and it worked out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: diane-tony
Super recipe for a quick easy dinner. I would however add cayenne pepper or a good dash of hot sauce the next time. It really wasn't enough for 4, 3 would be just perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches