My reviews (197)

Fluffy Mozzarella and Basil Scrambled Eggs

The addition of soured cream makes these scrambled eggs ultra-rich, whereas the basil adds a kick in the flavour department. Sometimes I use mature cheddar and a little garlic and onion (powdered or fresh) for even more flavour.
Reviews (197)


19 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: danisheyes
You're right on using sour cream in eggs. It is a great dairy item to use even without the cheese. This is a great variation on a brilliant theme. My favorite is chive but any herb will do just great. ENJOY!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
25 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: stella_illuminata
Mmmm this was a quick and easy breakfast. The only thing I added was a sprinkle of sharp cheddar cheese on top, just because I like the bite. I think this would be great to serve for breakfast or brunch if you're having people over...it's fresh, quick, can easily be made in large quantities if you multiply the recipe, and the basil adds an unexpected twist that makes this dish seem a little more "gourmet" than regular old scrambled eggs. Thanks timbertiger!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
24 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: naples34102
I never added sour cream to scrambled eggs but Hubs and I found we enjoyed it. Since there was already mozzarella and fresh basil going on here I added halved grape tomatoes, instantly creating "Eggs Caprese." If you like Caprese salad, you'll like these eggs too. Nice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
28 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: homeschooler3
Quick, easy and delicious breakfast! I used chives and shredded Colby-Jack cheese. Adding the sour cream gives the eggs a nice smooth texture. My whole family liked them. I love the fact that they are versatile. You can add whatever herb and cheese you want. Thanks for sharing! I will be making these again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: KatJune
Delicious breakfast. I added basil pesto because I love the galic taste. I can't believe I've been eating eggs so plain all these years.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Rich Hersey
I make my scrambled eggs like this all the time. But sour cream or creme fraiche goes in AT THE END. Just about 30 seconds before you plate them. Most pictures I've seen of this show the eggs are overdone. Scrambled eggs should be creamy ALL the way through. The crux of them is that they should finish cooking ON THE PLATE.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
11 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Lotus Blossom
It tastes wonderful. To add flavor, i mixed in minced garlic. I tried diced fresh tomato but i wouldn't recommend it, the fluid made everything sort of runny, even when it was all cooked.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
01 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: TOBSCHOLARLY
Absolutely wonderful! I will never scramble eggs any other way!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
08 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Wow - these really are "Creamy and Cheesy"! I would have never thought to use sour cream in scrambled eggs before, but it was a nice change. I added a little garlic and used a combination of mozzarella and Parmesan cheeses. I also added some cherry tomatoes for some additional color and flavor. Plus what goes better with fresh basil than fresh tomatoes? This was great for breakfast with a side of whole grain toast and OJ!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
21 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: caradee76
Loved this recipe for even a late night snack, I actually added diced tomatoes and jalepenos, it gave a great twist and a little flare. My husband and I are huge fans of spicy, savory food! All in all this is a great recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches