My reviews (218)

Gluten-free vanilla sponge cake

This sponge cake is not only gluten-free, but it's really versatile. Layer with sweetened cream and fresh fruit, then finish with the frosting of your choice. Alternatively, you could use the recipe to make cupcakes or muffins.
Reviews (218)


20 May 2011
Reviewed by: erimousch
I made this for a friend's birthday cake. She loved it! So did everyone else, even those not Gluten Free. Try this sponge cake - you won't be disappointed!
 
16 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: eli
I made this twice so far. The first time I used regular rice flour that I buy from an organic store. It turned out well...but you could tell it was "gluten-free". The second time, I used a rice flour I bought from an asian market...it's made in Thailand, and it is ground superfine (it was rice flour, not to be confused with sweet rice flour). It worked much better, and it tasted like the real deal. This is an excellent recipe, as long as you use superfine rice flour. (I've started using the superfine rice flour for all baked goods, and it makes a HUGE difference.)------------------------------------------------------------ Also, try adjusting the flours to 1 3/4 cup Thai rice flour and 1/2 tapioca flour. I just did a side by side comparison of this (chocolate cake version) and a boxed Pillsbury chocolate cake. The texture of the gf cake is pretty good (no longer the chewy texture of the original recipe.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
13 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Judy
Tried this recipe and found it to be very good. It can be adapted for many other desserts. I made pineapple upside down cake. I also mixed the milk with the rice flour while preparing other ingrediets and I found by doing this one step, the cake had a good texture. I also add a bowl of water to my oven while cooking gluten free as it adds moisture and baked goods tend to be less dry. great success with this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
07 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Helene
I made this into a blueberry streusel coffeecake by sprinkling the top with frozen blueberries (unthawed) and topping that with a streusel mixture I made up of 1/4 c. melted butter, 1/2 c. white sugar, and 3/4 c. rice flour. Baked it in a 9x13 pan for 30-35 minutes until it tests done with toothpick. Note, too, to eliminate the graininess of the rice flour, combine it with the milk and let sit while you mix rest of ingredients. Rice absorbs the moisture and becomes non-gritty. works in most recipes using rice flour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
23 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: DONNALOIS
This recipe works out great. I decrease the amount of sugar by 1/2 cup and substitute a box of Jello powder. My daughter loves it and she gets to choose which "flavour" of cake we will have every time (lemon, strawberry etc). I only use the Jello powder that calls for boiling water.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
02 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: devolution587
I unfortunately can't eat wheat, so I made GF cupcakes as well as normal cupcakes for my boyfriend's birthday. These turned out just as good as the wheat flour-based cupcakes. His fraternity brothers actually preferred the GF cupcakes! I followed the suggestions of previous reviewers and added 1/3 cup more sugar and 1/2 cup unsweetened coco powder to make chocolate cupcakes. I cooked them for about 19 minutes. Perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
14 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: sweetcook
WOW!!WOW!!WOW!! This is a fantastic recipe. It is very yummy and extremely easy to make. I made it with my young daughter and we turned it into cupcakes. Amazingly, unlike many gluten-free recipes, it does not crumble. We did alter the flour a bit -- 1/2 c brown rice flour, 3/4 cup white rice flour, 1/2 cup sorghum flour, and 1/2 c tapioca flour. Thank you for such a great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
15 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: smatovich
After looking through all of the top rated reviews, I've made a list of all of their adjustments. I make this cake for my father in law a couple time a year, so I needed a "go-to" review, so I don't have to keep searching for all of these hints. When I make the cake I use all of the tips. 1-add bowl of water to oven to add moisture 2-let rice flour soak in milk for a while to eliminate graininess 3- add 1/3 cup extra sugar 4- mix for 10-12 minutes- no gluten, so cant over mix. Makes it more fluffy 5- make into cupcakes (bake for 19 minutes) I have not tried, but will try... 6- adding 3T of cornstarch for a better consistency 7-add 1/2 cup cocoa to make it chocolate 8- for different flavors- add pkg of jello (boil kind) and decrease sugar by 1/2 cup
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
16 May 2007
Reviewed by: sharifree
I made this in the new silcone baking dish and didn't need to flour the the pan. I took anothers reviewers suggestion and added the milk to the rice flour while I combined the other ingredients. It lost 90% of it's graininess. Great suggestion. My husband who isn't celiac loved the cake. It's a great recipe to have fun with. I baked the whole recipe in one pan for a taller cake with less crust. I have sliced it in half and made a Boston Cream pie out of it. I think this can be adapted to make many of your favorites if you use your imagination.
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)
30 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: CAROWIN
Rather than xanthan gum (way too expensive!), can use guar gum (runs $4.99/lb in my area and can usually buy small packages for under $2 at health food stores). Cake turned out fine, except my batter was thin and I had to pour it rather than spread it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes US | Canada)

History

My recently viewed recipes


My recent searches